Newbie questions

Roofer

Post by Roofer » Sun. Jan. 13, 2019 2:31 pm

Hello , I’ve been reading about coal stoves and I think I’m sold on heating with coal . I have been heating with wood for over 20 years and enjoy it except that I would like a stove that heats through the night , actually heats not just closed down so much for there to be coals in the morning. I’ll still cut and split wood but sell some cords to pay for coal. I love the look of the coal chubby stoves and just about everything I’ve read about them . One of my questions is how long of a chimney is necessary for proper draft . I have a ranch with a class A 6” flue and without measuring I’d guess it’s about 12’ from the top of the stove to the top of the chimney . I have plenty of draft for my jotul woodstove . Would that be a tall enough chimney ? I live in New Jersey so coal is available and it does seem to be cheaper than anything else and of course I like tending to a fire. Thanks

franco b
Site Moderator
Hand Fed Coal Stove: V ermont Castings 2310, Franco Belge 262
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood Modern Oak 114
Coal Size/Type: nut and pea

Post by franco b » Sun. Jan. 13, 2019 3:12 pm

Twelve feet would be about a minimum. Best if it goes straight up and through the roof, rather than through the wall.

crazy4coal

Post by crazy4coal » Sun. Jan. 13, 2019 3:17 pm

Welcome, Tell us what town you are or near. Nobody will steal you, Someone near you may be able to look and help you. :clap: Welcome to the dark side :yes:

Roofer

Post by Roofer » Sun. Jan. 13, 2019 3:23 pm

Thanks for the replies. I’m in port republic , south jersey .

bambooboy
Baseburners & Antiques: imperial ringgold
Other Heating: woodstock soapstone,comfort,fisher,federal,fairy oak

Post by bambooboy » Sun. Jan. 13, 2019 4:11 pm