Bit vs Anthracite

Jjones6840
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Hot blast 1357m
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Other Heating: Electric/heatpump

Post by Jjones6840 » Sat. Dec. 01, 2018 5:15 pm

I haven’t tried bit coal, and I’m still fairly new to burning coal, other than soot why is anthracite better that bit coal?

McGiever
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: BUCKET A DAY water heater
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Warm Morning 414A
Coal Size/Type: PEA,NUT,STOVE /ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump and some Solar

Post by McGiever » Sat. Dec. 01, 2018 8:29 pm

Jjones6840 wrote:
Sat. Dec. 01, 2018 5:15 pm
I haven’t tried bit coal, and I’m still fairly new to burning coal, other than soot why is anthracite better that bit coal?
Many more variable properties.

Ash fusion temperature...this can be troublesome
Percentage of volatiles...this can be troublesome
% of sulfur
% of pyrite (iron)
coke button measurement
sometimes lower BTU/lb

Just to cite a few...a good high quality bit coal can meet or even beat a good hard coal...but it is real uncommon to have access to such for the home heating markets of today.

Jjones6840

Post by Jjones6840 » Sat. Dec. 01, 2018 8:56 pm

Thank you.

lsayre
Stoker Coal Boiler: AHS S130 Coal Gun
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Anthracite Pea
Other Heating: Resistance Boiler (13.5 KW), ComfortMax 75

Post by lsayre » Sun. Dec. 02, 2018 6:16 am

I've never used it, but those who have tend to state that bit coal tosses up a violent rush of initial heat that can be very hard to keep under control. I believe this is due to its high volatile gas concentration. When asked if it was akin to burning wood on steroids, one member who has used bit coal in his stove stated that steroids do not adequately describe the blow torch heat given off early in the bituminous coal burn cycle, and he equated it to burning wood on amphetamines.

CorrosionMan
Location: SE Ohio - Carrolton/Kilgore/Perrysville -- inbetween
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Hitzer 82 FA