Brought My New Toy Home Today

Post Reply
gloss
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat. Jun. 14, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Honesdale, PA

Post Sun. Jun. 29, 2008 11:57 pm

Bought a couple year old Keystoker HF 90 today from an old lady my mom knew. Still looks great, cept for broken handles. I think the old duffer put gaskets on too thick and smashed em trying to crank the door shut. It was a package deal with at least 3 ton of coal for 1300. I think I did pretty well. :D It was a Bi*** to move, and I only got one load of coal today. I don't mind it though. Part of me really can't wait to light up a stove full. But I gotta burn the last of my oil before I stick the furnace in the corner. :roll:

ken
Member
Posts: 1262
Joined: Sat. Apr. 21, 2007 11:35 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker - Rice Coal
Stove/Furnace Model: 75K - Bay Window - Direct Vent
Location: thompson , ohio

Post Mon. Jun. 30, 2008 1:47 am

you might want to save the oil burner for those below zero nights. :D

User avatar
Freddy
Member
Posts: 6624
Joined: Fri. Apr. 11, 2008 2:54 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 130 (pea)
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Reading piece o' junk in the barn (rice)
Coal Size/Type: Pea size, Superior, deep mined
Location: Orrington, Maine

Post Mon. Jun. 30, 2008 5:58 am

Congrats on the good find!

Yaaa, why do you have to burn the oil?.... save it for a lazy day!

gloss
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat. Jun. 14, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Honesdale, PA

Post Mon. Jun. 30, 2008 11:33 am

hah...well, I only have one flue, and I want to use the oil before I disconnect the furnace, and hook up the stove.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9915
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Mon. Jun. 30, 2008 11:49 am

Save the oil, in a few years you can sell it for enough to buy a new stoker. :D

ken
Member
Posts: 1262
Joined: Sat. Apr. 21, 2007 11:35 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker - Rice Coal
Stove/Furnace Model: 75K - Bay Window - Direct Vent
Location: thompson , ohio

Post Mon. Jun. 30, 2008 2:08 pm

didn't hear this from me.:) alot of guys hook up both flues to one chimney. sure it's not the thing to do. do a little research. just have to make the setup , so you can inspect and clean it out when needed.even with the cost of oil , i'm glad I have backup heat incase the coal burner needs a part , I have to wait for it or for those nasty winter nights.

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9915
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Mon. Jun. 30, 2008 2:36 pm


Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”