Vigilant Stove question

TigerLab
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vigilant

Post by TigerLab » Sun. Nov. 18, 2018 8:58 am

Hi folks. Newbie here. Just bought a house with an old VC Vigilant. Not sure if its vigilant 1 or 2. I tried burning a few times and I cant get the coal to really burn hot and long.

So ive been reading and i bought a new gasket kit im going try to make sure im completely sealed up. I also took apart the grate to make sure the bituminous plate was removed. I took the other three plates off that were there to clean behind. Im assuming those are always supposed to be in place?

I’m trying to understand where the air comes in under the coal bed? From the left side plate that was removed? Seems like those side plates should also not be there?

Thanks for your help and any tips are appreciated.

Also as a note im burning the coal that was left in the old bin. The previous owner was an old man and not very mobile so i assume he hadn’t burned in years. Its dry but Im not sure if thats working against me as well.

Attachments

B93F3783-FB37-4E58-BA0C-999E6D51F1CE.jpeg
.JPEG | 727KB | B93F3783-FB37-4E58-BA0C-999E6D51F1CE.jpeg

Rich W.
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vermont Castings Vigilant Multi-Fuel (coal for me); Vermont Castings Vigilant 2310 in the shop
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Other Heating: System 2000 Oil Burner; VC Resolute Woodstove (sold) Jotul 8 Woodstove (sold)

Post by Rich W. » Sun. Nov. 18, 2018 3:04 pm

More photos would help; not sure which model you have there. I have two Vigilant models, and both get the under fire air from the vent in the back. The side openings are clean outs for the hot air chambers that extract the heat. Keep closed except for cleaning.

franco b
Site Moderator
Hand Fed Coal Stove: V ermont Castings 2310, Franco Belge 262
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood Modern Oak 114
Coal Size/Type: nut and pea

Post by franco b » Sun. Nov. 18, 2018 3:20 pm