Harman Startup Questions

MHavoc
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark Fireplace Insert w/Blower
Coal Size/Type: Nut

Post by MHavoc » Sun. Oct. 21, 2018 3:44 pm

First, I am total noob at either wood or coal stoves, but I am rather excited about the prospect of heating my house with coal. I have a Harman Mark ? (Don't know the model) and took delivery of 3 ton of nut coal. I have been reading the forum and trying to figure out the base way to fire things up and I think I have the basic process down, but I have some questions which may seem obvious... just not to me :D.
20181021_150215.jpg

Harman Fireplace Insert Coal Stove

.JPG | 287.1KB | 20181021_150215.jpg
(1) Since the Harman is a Fireplace Insert, the back damper can only be adjusted manually from inside the firebox. I understand that when you first start the firing up process, this damper would be in the fully open position. What I am having difficulty understanding, is how you can adjust this damper with a hot coal fire going on the grates? I imagine that you use heavy leather gloves and do it as quickly as possible, but is that correct? Or is there a better way with tongs or something else?
20181021_150247.jpg

Back Damper for the Stove to the Brick Chimney

.JPG | 372.1KB | 20181021_150247.jpg
(2) Many members talk about measuring their drafts, but I don't see a way of doing that with this application. Basically, the damper allows for crude adjustments in the back and the air inlet in the ash door can be more finely adjusted with 1/4 turns to dial in the burn rate. Right?

(3) My stove doesn't have an ash pan. Is that a big deal? I guess I will just be scooping the ashes out in the pail and it will take a little more time.

Thanks.

dane
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark II

Post by dane » Sun. Oct. 21, 2018 8:19 pm

I dont know about the damper as my Mark II doesnt have that, but you 100% want to have an ash pan, I'm sure you can purchase one!

Dane

coalvet
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Crane Model 404, Harman MK I