Draft range good for setting barometric damper

Burt
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker Hopper

Post by Burt » Fri. Oct. 19, 2018 1:50 pm

I'm new to burning coal, and hope I never have to burn another stick of wood. I've got a Keystoker Hopper, baro damper and manometer. We have a steady .03 reading almost all the time-- 6" stainless liner inside an inside wall fireplace chimney going up about 14'. We had some strong wind gusts the other day and the manometer would do nothing when we heard the gust hit, but then go up to about .09, then ease back down to .04. I'm burning nut Lehigh coal.

The baro damper did open some, but not often. I've got the weight on the correct side, but do I need to make it so it opens more quickly? That is, if the draft is going up that high, it would seem the baro damper is not doing the job it is needed to do.

Thanks!

Burt

tcalo
Baseburners & Antiques: Crawford 40
Coal Size/Type: Nut/stove anthracite

Post by tcalo » Fri. Oct. 19, 2018 1:58 pm

Sounds like you have the weight on the heaviest setting. It depends on what kind of baro you have. The field control r/c baro has a weight on the door with marks indicating draft. These devices can be set up vertically or horizontally. Just be sure the weight is on the correct side of the door. It will indicate mounting position on the door along with draft indicator marks. Just loosen the weight and slide the weight to the required mark and tighten it back up. Example, when the weight is set to -.03 then the door should open if the draft pulls harder than -.03. There are other types of baro’s that the weight just screws in and out I believe. Same concept, just a different means of adjusting it. Ideal is -.03 for most stoves. Hope this helps.

Lightning
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Modified AA 130
Coal Size/Type: Pea Size - Anthracite

Post by Lightning » Fri. Oct. 19, 2018 2:15 pm