New DS1500 Coal stove

Odyknuck
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Circulator #1500 W/ blower modification
Coal Size/Type: Nut Coal
Other Heating: House - Propane Forced air furnace. Garage - Hydronic in the concrete floor with Pellet stove supplement.

Post by Odyknuck » Sat. Aug. 11, 2018 8:44 am

:out: Greetings folks. Did not see an introduction page so I will do it here. I live in Northeast Ohio. I have been burning wood for the last 12 years and convinced myself that because it was from my property it was free lol. Well we all know there is no such thing as Free lol. So at 63 years old , reality set in and I decided it was way to much work for an old man and my wife unit.
:yes: So I just stepped into the coal burning world with a brand new DS Circulator #1500 (being delivered Tuesday) and have some questions.

1) I will be using my existing Metalbestas chimney however want to do away with the leaky split stove pipe inside. What is the best stuff to use?

2) Dealer stated per factory recommendations I do not need a Barometric damper with this model , Thoughts?

3) Dealer stocks Blaschak Coal, Is the good stuff or should I use something else?

4) Should I use Pea or Nut coal?

5) Any other tips for a Newby? :idea:

freetown fred
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut

Post by freetown fred » Sat. Aug. 11, 2018 9:05 am

Welcome O. The only thing I can comment on is, been burning BLASCHAK for 10 yrs with no problems--hopefully you are gonna do bulk??? Point being--anything bagged has a problem of being damp to soaked. Now the DS guys can jump in!!! :)

Odyknuck
Other Heating: House - Propane Forced air furnace. Garage - Hydronic in the concrete floor with Pellet stove supplement.

Post by Odyknuck » Sat. Aug. 11, 2018 9:37 am

Thanks for the Welcome. No place to put bulk.

warminmn
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Junior, Efel Nestor Martin, Riteway 37
Coal Size/Type: nut and stove anthracite, lignite
Other Heating: Wood and wear a wool shirt