How Many Tons to Purchase for Season?

jimbo
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Fire Chief 700
Coal Size/Type: Stove or nut

Post by jimbo » Fri. Jun. 20, 2008 10:18 pm

I am new to burning coal. I have purchased a new hand fired firechief 700 furnace (150K). The furnace has a forced draft blower and a rotary grate. Furnace will burn coal or wood it has a long skinny fire box. I have not burnt any wood for 10 years or so used to heat with wood only then went to fuel oil. Oil has gotten to expensive so I am going give coal a try.The house is 1800 sf well insulated located in upstate NY. I have thought about getting 1 ton of pea coal for fall and spring and 2 tons of nut coal for the cold months.
I use approx 3 tanks of oil per season which comes out to 750 gallons. I have searched and found site that says I would need 2.6 tons based on 750 gallons of oil. Does this seem right ? I would like to know how much other people are using for a season. :?

LsFarm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland

Post by LsFarm » Fri. Jun. 20, 2008 10:25 pm

Please post a photo of your firebox with dimensions.. that description makes me concerned about it's ability to burn coal well... I'd use nut coal.. Pea is probably too small for the unit...

I'd recommend buying some bagged coal first and finding out if your furnace will burn coal well enough to make buying several tons worthwhile..

Roughly put, 180 gallons of oil is equal to 1 ton of coal.. if burnt and distributed to the house with the same efficiency.

Greg L

jimbo

Post by jimbo » Sat. Jun. 21, 2008 7:05 am

Thanks for the reply my firebox dim. are 28 inces deep x 18 wide at top of fire brick and tapers down to 8 inches over the rotary grates. Do you see a problem with burning coal in this stove?
I will try to figure out how to post a few pics of fire box.

Richard S.
Mayor
Stoker Coal Boiler: Van Wert VA1200