Question About Unburned Coal When Using Coal and Wood

Post Reply
Jgib4
Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun. Jul. 30, 2017 7:08 pm
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Fire chief 450
Location: Carroll county maryland

Post Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 8:58 pm

So after the advice you guys gave I have been able to use the coal to pretty decent effect for night burns. I’ve been getting about 12 hours out of the coal. I have found that with the coal loaded a little above half way up the fire bricks has had the best effect, any more then that tends to choke out the fire. Probably with a larger size coal I wouldn’t have this problem. My question is in the mornings when I go to switch back to wood, I feel like I have a lot of burned coal that hasn’t turned to ash and has to be shoveled out of the firebox, js this normAl? I will try to add a picture for reference.
687824B8-FBF6-4E19-9344-7EC2699209B4.jpeg
Last edited by Richard S. on Tue. Nov. 14, 2017 7:02 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Changed title, please use descriptive titles. Thanks

Visit Hitzer Stoves

Jgib4
Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun. Jul. 30, 2017 7:08 pm
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Fire chief 450
Location: Carroll county maryland

Post Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 9:02 pm

Also is there ever a sulpher smell to anthracite? I’m wondering if there might be some bit mixed in, as I get that smell hanging outside faintly when it burns sometimes.

User avatar
freetown fred
Member
Posts: 21835
Joined: Thu. Dec. 31, 2009 12:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut
Location: Freetown,NY 13803

Post Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 9:27 pm

With Anth. you'll get a lil sulpher smell if atmospheric --cool word-- conditions are right--HEAVY! Is your stove a combo--wood & coal? You're using nut?

Jgib4
Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun. Jul. 30, 2017 7:08 pm
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Fire chief 450
Location: Carroll county maryland

Post Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 9:30 pm

freetown fred wrote:
Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 9:27 pm
With Anth. you'll get a lil sulpher smell if atmospheric --cool word-- conditions are right--HEAVY! Is your stove a combo--wood & coal? You're using nut?
Yes from what I understand I made a bad purchase if I plan on switching to all coal. Luckily I have a lot of access to wood and mainly want the coal for long burns when I’m not around for right now. It is nut size.

franco b
Site Moderator
Posts: 8648
Joined: Wed. Nov. 05, 2008 5:11 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: V ermont Castings 2310, Franco Belge 262
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood Modern Oak 114
Coal Size/Type: nut and pea
Location: Kent CT

Post Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 9:43 pm

I would not cleanout the fire box, but shake down well and start the wood fire. Any coal left will burn.

Jgib4
Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun. Jul. 30, 2017 7:08 pm
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Fire chief 450
Location: Carroll county maryland

Post Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 9:46 pm

franco b wrote:
Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 9:43 pm
I would not cleanout the fire box, but shake down well and start the wood fire. Any coal left will burn.
That is what I did today and the picture is still what was left unburned.

User avatar
grumpy
Member
Posts: 7098
Joined: Sat. Jan. 02, 2010 12:28 am

Post Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 9:49 pm

Don't lite a coal fire unless your going to burn it for a long time, it's not like wood and will not burn up in full like wood.. I won't burn coal unless it's for a week at least...

User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 8667
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 9:52 pm

Jgib4 wrote:
Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 9:46 pm
That is what I did today and the picture is still what was left unburned.
That's okay, shake it again and continue to build your wood fire on top, unless those are clinkers/slate and you have lousy coal.

As a matter of fact, that stove could be modified to burn coal just fine.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
grumpy
Member
Posts: 7098
Joined: Sat. Jan. 02, 2010 12:28 am

Post Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 9:52 pm

I have found that with the coal loaded a little above half way up the fire bricks has had the best effect, any more then that tends to choke out the fire
Somethings not right, the more coal the better..

User avatar
grumpy
Member
Posts: 7098
Joined: Sat. Jan. 02, 2010 12:28 am

Post Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 9:54 pm

That's okay, shake it again and continue to build your wood fire on top
+1, but your going to need a good hot bed of wood coals to get the coal going again, but it will work..

Jgib4
Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun. Jul. 30, 2017 7:08 pm
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Fire chief 450
Location: Carroll county maryland

Post Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 9:56 pm

I will try it again. This is what I had this morning when I went down
Attachments
E059D4E1-D079-438D-A9E3-9A091BC94C09.jpeg

User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 8667
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 9:58 pm

grumpy wrote:
Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 9:52 pm
Somethings not right, the more coal the better..
There is some learning curve with running anthy in these multi fuel units. As long as you have decent draft, ashes cleared properly, a healthy burning bed left after shake down and most importantly - have blocked any places where primary air can bypass the grates - you can load to the gills and it'll go.

Jgib4
Member
Posts: 162
Joined: Sun. Jul. 30, 2017 7:08 pm
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Fire chief 450
Location: Carroll county maryland

Post Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 10:00 pm

Lightning wrote:
Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 9:58 pm
There is some learning curve with running anthy in these multi fuel units. As long as you have decent draft, ashes cleared properly, a healthy burning bed left after shake down and most importantly - have blocked any places where primary air can bypass the grates - you can load to the gills and it'll go.
There doesn’t seem to be any other place for secondary air to go in. It burns great when the ash pan is open and goes down to a simmer unless I have the damper open most of the way.

User avatar
grumpy
Member
Posts: 7098
Joined: Sat. Jan. 02, 2010 12:28 am

Post Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 10:05 pm

Jgib4 wrote:
Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 9:56 pm
I will try it again. This is what I had this morning when I went down
That looks like a coal meatloaf... lol, pile it on until you cant anymore, then keep it under control with air. make sure you can control the air so it don't run away. I know as a newbie myself it's hard to wrap your head around putting in all the coal you can, over time you will understand this..

User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 8667
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 10:06 pm

Jgib4 wrote:
Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 9:56 pm
I will try it again. This is what I had this morning when I went down
That looks good to me, other than that it's a little shallow. There shouldn't be any problem loading more coal on top of that. Leave the ash door open till the fresh load is burning good, just don't leave it unattended while it's open or forget about it.

I would block the front and rear liners so primary air can't bypass the grates. That's just what I would do lol.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”