Brunco Hearthglow Stove, Troubles Burning Anthracite

rsballer10
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Brunco Hearthglow

Post by rsballer10 » Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 7:02 pm

New to the forum. I have a Brunco Hearthglow that came with the house. I called Brunk's, the distributor in Ohio, and was told that it's better with bituminous coal, but I don't know if anyone sells that here (Northern MD). The only success I had was when I used stove coal mixed with nut. The stove coal did actually over-fire but that was because I was afraid of it not lighting.

I used to work in a fire science laboratory, so I'm not a complete novice, basically I am using a multi-fuel stove that is better with soft coal/ wood and I want to know what I can do to improve it's performance with anthracite. Any ideas guys?

michaelanthony
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vigilant 2310, gold marc box stove
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Gold Marc Independence
Baseburners & Antiques: Home Sparkle 12
Coal Size/Type: 'nut
Other Heating: Fujitsu mini split, FHA oil furnace

Post by michaelanthony » Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 7:32 pm

Ok let's start with some pictures of the grates, doors, and all air controls. Anthracite coal needs a deep bed, (at least 8 inches), and all primary air under it.

Lightning
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Modified AA 130
Coal Size/Type: Pea Size - Anthracite

Post by Lightning » Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 7:49 pm

As Mike mentioned, pictures above and below the grates, sides of the fire box, the more the better.

As for improvement, what exactly are you looking for? You said it over fired on stove size, are you having trouble controlling the burn? If you describe a little more in depth of how the stove is behaving, that would be a big help also.

rsballer10

Post by rsballer10 » Mon. Nov. 13, 2017 8:07 pm

Uploading via phone, will clarify in detail via computer...

Attachments

IMG_20171113_195630320.jpg
.JPG | 207KB | IMG_20171113_195630320.jpg
IMG_20171113_195607199.jpg
.JPG | 296.4KB | IMG_20171113_195607199.jpg