Will Not Burn Coal Well

NoSmoke
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: New Yoker WC90
Baseburners & Antiques: Woods and Bishop Antique Pot Bellied Stove
Coal Size/Type: Stove/Nut/Pea Anthracite
Other Heating: Munchkin LP Boiler/Englander Pellet Stove/Perkins 4.108 Cogeneration diesel

Post by NoSmoke » Sun. Nov. 12, 2017 7:42 am

Please help, as you guys know I have been burning coal in various stoves for 23 years, even in woodstoves that are not even made for coal, yet with this latest one I just cannot seem to get it to burn. I know it is a process to walk through a diagnosis, and I will try by giving quality information:

My stove is an antique 1893 Woods and Bishop New Era #4 Pot bellied stove

I would not call this stove "air tight", but in wood fired runaway situations, it can be shut down enough to snuff out the fire. Air tight no, but nearly air tight...yes.

It has multiple draft doors, from an ash door, to an anti-clinker door to a upper damper on the loading door, to a removable frying pan lid, to a manual damper inside the chimney, to an automatic flapper damper for the wind we get here.

I have no draft gauge.

The chimney is 6 inches in diameter, has (2) 90 degree elbows, 3 feet of vertical rise off the stove, 4 feet of horizontal run, then 14 feet of height. It sticks out 2 feet above the roof and there is nothing close to it to impeded draft. Furthermore I live in 60 acres of open land with very limited trees. I can also see Mt Washington some 150 miles away from this hill.

I tried to burn both pea and nut coal with limited success of either. I prefer stove coal, but have not tried it yet. Coal was purchased years apart. I do not believe it is coal quality causing my problem.

Today was a coal burn failure yet there is no wind and super cold out. Draft should not have been an issue.

I can burn wood in the stove. How great I am not sure. I am burning green softwood I have kicking around so it is hard to judge.