In The Beginning......

jonnoh

Post by jonnoh » Fri. Oct. 27, 2017 4:53 pm

Hi. I'm Jon and a complete novice who hopes to be a successful burner of anthracite to heat my small 1250 sq/ft house in northern Maine. I've posted a long and dreary explanation of what I'm trying to do in the thread titled, "St. Nicholas Base Burner". mikeanthony suggested that I start a new thread here. I basically was wondering if I could replace my new in the 1960s oil furnace with a newer burner with the St. Nicholas base burner supposedly still for sale at Bryants. I've watched and rewatched, and watched again, and again, and yet again the wonderful youtube videos William posted on starting and tending his Glenwood base burner and it seemed like a thing I might like to do. So I don't bore you anymore with repeating details, you could look at my misplaced post to see where I'm coming from. I'd sure appreciate any advice of ideas any of you might have.

Jon

joeq
Hand Fed Coal Stove: G111, Southard Robertson

Post by joeq » Fri. Oct. 27, 2017 7:26 pm

Hi Jon, and welcome aboard. You've come to the right place for advice on coal burning, because not only are a lot of these members gurus when it comes to this subject, but this is "the only" website dedicated to this fuel. You'll find that opinions in some areas vary widely among some members, but they all even out in the end. Lots of different preferences, and avenues to take when considering coal as a heat source, but one thing 99.9 percent of the members will agree, coal has a definite advantage over "brand X" solid fuels. Naturally there are other benefits for some, with other types, but you'll find out in other threads the pros and cons. It appears you've already experienced it for yourself.