Hotblast Year 3

Modern and vintage hand fired coal stove are similar to a wood stove and in some cases can burn either. They need to be regulated and fed by hand usually every 12 to 24 hours depending on your usage. They require no power to operate making them ideal for rural settings with long power outages.
larryfoster
Member
Posts: 1165
Joined: Fri. Nov. 21, 2014 1:02 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Hot Blast 1557M
Coal Size/Type: Bituminous run of mine
Other Heating: Propane Kerosene
Location: Armstrong County

Post Tue. Jan. 10, 2017 11:37 pm

This is as much as I will know before morning.

Took the hose off and the probe out of the pipe.
Blew on it and it was not plugged.
Put it back into the bottom hole, wiggled it around and it was still clear.
That indicates to me that something happened ( a change, perhaps) in the last day that made the mano drop from a long time .05 to the .01-.03.

These are the only things that I can think of that would involve the flue.
I covered the baro with aluminum foil and I moved the MPD handle for the first time since the pipes were cleaned at the start of the season.

I don't recall cleaning since then.
I'll clean the pipes and blow out the stack tomorrow.

May as well give the stove as good a cleaning as I can, too.
It's good that it will be 50 tomorrow.
Makes it easier to make this work
I have a hate/sort of like with my Hotblast

Visit Hitzer Stoves

larryfoster
Member
Posts: 1165
Joined: Fri. Nov. 21, 2014 1:02 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Hot Blast 1557M
Coal Size/Type: Bituminous run of mine
Other Heating: Propane Kerosene
Location: Armstrong County

Post Tue. Jan. 10, 2017 11:38 pm

Just more mystery with my mysterious stove.
I have a hate/sort of like with my Hotblast

User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 8289
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post Tue. Jan. 10, 2017 11:42 pm

Wow. Well let us know what you find in there. My best guess is a mass of soot around the MPD.

larryfoster
Member
Posts: 1165
Joined: Fri. Nov. 21, 2014 1:02 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Hot Blast 1557M
Coal Size/Type: Bituminous run of mine
Other Heating: Propane Kerosene
Location: Armstrong County

Post Tue. Jan. 10, 2017 11:51 pm

I'll see if I can get pics.
Usually, when I clean, that's the case
I have a hate/sort of like with my Hotblast

Sunny Boy
Member
Posts: 12594
Joined: Mon. Nov. 11, 2013 1:40 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Anthracite Industrial, domestic hot water heater
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood range 208, # 6 base heater, 2 Modern Oak 118.
Coal Size/Type: Nuts !
Other Heating: Oil &electric plenum furnace
Location: Central NY

Post Wed. Jan. 11, 2017 2:46 pm

Larry,

Have you found out anymore during your pipe cleaning session ?

Paul
So many stoves - so few chimneys. I must be coal-stone crazy.

larryfoster
Member
Posts: 1165
Joined: Fri. Nov. 21, 2014 1:02 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Hot Blast 1557M
Coal Size/Type: Bituminous run of mine
Other Heating: Propane Kerosene
Location: Armstrong County

Post Wed. Jan. 11, 2017 2:59 pm

Just got back to the house after 3 hours of running.

Before I left, got the pipes off and cleaned but still need to do the stack and clean the furnace today.
Then I'll put it all back together.

There was a fair amount of soot in the pipes.
I replaced a section of pipe that had the MPD.
Because there was soot all around the pipes, the probe for the mano could, POSSIBLY, gotten some stuff in it affecting the operation.

Nothing definitive yet.

BTW, how can I seal a small hole in one of the pipes?
When I drilled the new pipe for the MPD I got one hole in the wrong spot
I have a hate/sort of like with my Hotblast

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9822
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Wed. Jan. 11, 2017 3:01 pm

A big sheet metal screw should work to plug a hole. Or a bolt and nut.
Nothing is impossible for people who don't have to do it themselves.

Sunny Boy
Member
Posts: 12594
Joined: Mon. Nov. 11, 2013 1:40 pm
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Anthracite Industrial, domestic hot water heater
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood range 208, # 6 base heater, 2 Modern Oak 118.
Coal Size/Type: Nuts !
Other Heating: Oil &electric plenum furnace
Location: Central NY

Post Wed. Jan. 11, 2017 3:02 pm

You can plug the drill hole with a sheet metal screw, or a bolt of a size near enough to the hole size that it will threaded into the hole without needing a nut on it.

Paul

Edit.
Or, yes, use a nut on the bolt. But put the bolt in so that the nut is on the outside. That way if it loosens, you can hold the bolt with pliers and tighten the nut with a wrench. Then there's no need to get into the pipe - which you'd have to do if the nut were on the inside.

Paul
Last edited by Sunny Boy on Wed. Jan. 11, 2017 3:06 pm, edited 2 times in total.
So many stoves - so few chimneys. I must be coal-stone crazy.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 8289
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post Wed. Jan. 11, 2017 3:04 pm

Foil tape works too.

larryfoster
Member
Posts: 1165
Joined: Fri. Nov. 21, 2014 1:02 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Hot Blast 1557M
Coal Size/Type: Bituminous run of mine
Other Heating: Propane Kerosene
Location: Armstrong County

Post Wed. Jan. 11, 2017 3:13 pm

I have foil tape but didn't know if that would stand up to the heat there.
I think I have a self driller bigger than the hole that may work.
Thanks
I have a hate/sort of like with my Hotblast

User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 8289
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post Wed. Jan. 11, 2017 3:35 pm

I use foil tape to hold down my flue pipe temp probe. It's withstood 360 degrees. The temp probe above the load door is also held with foil tape, that's seen a little over 400 periodically. I'm not sure how much heat it will handle after 400 though. A screw is best if you can find one.

User avatar
Dieselpowerf350
Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Sun. Oct. 25, 2015 6:51 pm
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Hotblast 1557m
Coal Size/Type: All and I want more....lol!
Other Heating: Oil
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa

Post Wed. Jan. 11, 2017 4:07 pm

Everyone has been asking for pictures. Where are the pictures Larry?
Mike

larryfoster
Member
Posts: 1165
Joined: Fri. Nov. 21, 2014 1:02 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Hot Blast 1557M
Coal Size/Type: Bituminous run of mine
Other Heating: Propane Kerosene
Location: Armstrong County

Post Wed. Jan. 11, 2017 5:10 pm

Patience, patience
:D
I have a hate/sort of like with my Hotblast

larryfoster
Member
Posts: 1165
Joined: Fri. Nov. 21, 2014 1:02 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Hot Blast 1557M
Coal Size/Type: Bituminous run of mine
Other Heating: Propane Kerosene
Location: Armstrong County

Post Wed. Jan. 11, 2017 9:01 pm

Pipes cleaned with minor mods.
Stack blown out.
Pipes reassembled.
Blew through hose and probe for mano. Not plugged.
Mano set at zero before reconnecting.
Hooked to "Low" side and the probe is between the stove outlet and MPD.
Recapped baro with foil.

Mani still at "zero" after connecting.
The furnace did not yet get the ashes and stuff cleaned out but I built a small wood fire to see if I can get a reading on the mano.
After about 20 mins., over the door is 320*
Mano went to .01.
I have the ash door partly open and the load door open 1" as well as the secondary air open.

Do manometers go bad?
I didn't check the fluid today so can only assume it's ok until tomorrow.

I don't plan to burn tonight.

Now....
Pics.
damoer soot.jpg
Soot by damper
Pipe soot.jpg
Pipe soot
I have a hate/sort of like with my Hotblast

User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 8289
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post Wed. Jan. 11, 2017 9:16 pm

Wow, that's a lot of soot and fly ash in those pipes. Good job with all that. The mano only showing a .01 with a wood fire is a bit of a mystery. Does it go up if you close the load door and ash door?

Visit Hitzer Stoves

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”