Newbie Needs Advice on Purchase

jedc43

Post by jedc43 » Fri. May. 16, 2008 7:36 pm

Hello people,
I have been burning wood for the Last 8 years and I have just sold my wood stove.I am in the market for a coal stove but I am so confused on which to buy.My intent is to be able to burn some wood in the stove because I have some left over and from time to time I will always have some wood laying around.I decided to go exclusively coal because the only way it made financial sense to burn wood was to buy it log lenghthj and cut and split it myself.Well frankly I am just tired of all the work and mess.I live in Mass and it looks like my choices are The HarmonTLC 2000....Hitzer....and SAEY.....Can anyone recomend or not recomen any of these units.Can I burn wood in these models.I know that the Harman says it will burn wood ,but as a fireplace with the front door open.Can you shut the door and and flu and burn wood that way?

Devil505

Post by Devil505 » Fri. May. 16, 2008 8:18 pm

The Harman TLC2000 is my present & 3rd coal stove & by far the best. It will burn good sized wooden logs with the door open or closed. It is a serious appliance to heat your home with & you will soon stop opening the door & wasting heat! :lol:
I rarely burn wood & suggest you do he same thing unless you get firewood for free......Just use it for quick fires at the beginning & end of the heating season. I live in Plymouth, Mass. & also recommend you get quality coal. I use Blaschak nut coal that I buy from Aubuchon Hardware. (I treid Reading Coal this winter & had to fight it all winter!) Once you burn coal you will never want to go back to wood. Coal is much easier to control, much less work (I shake my stove down once a day) & most of us light our stoves once & keep it running 24/7 right through the winter. I can't speak to the other stoves you are looking at but would definetly recommend the Harman TLC2000.