Another Hitzer Question

bukweet

Post by bukweet » Sun. Nov. 27, 2005 9:13 am

I redently installed an Hitzer 50-93 in my basement.I am new to coal heating here in South Jersey, but at $2.51 /gal. for heating oil,I feel that this source is worth the effort. My stove was installed with no flue dampner and runs to a 6" ss liner. I do have a magnetic temp. gauge on the flue about 12-14 " above the stove. I have also had the partially burned and unburnt coal problem and figured that correcting that was just part of the learning curve with the transition. I am currently using nut size coal, which I purchased from my stove dealer at $240.00/ton in 50 lb. bags, but if sound advice from this forum indicate that peas size is more efficient to this stove, I would be inclined to change. My question to the forum is this: Using the flue temp as a guide, what is the optimum exhaust gas temp. range to achieve the best, most efficient combustion and reduce the unburnt and partially burned fuel.
Thanks to all who reply.
Bob from S.J.

Post by Guest » Mon. Nov. 28, 2005 11:54 am

I also just bought a Hitzer 50-93 (used) and fired it up for the first time on saturday. I had no problems getting it started. However the next day when it finally did burn out, I was left with a single layer of white really crappy looking and nearly weighing nothing looking coal pieces. I was wondering if I did something wrong or is this just some bad coal mixed in? Also we lit the stove at around 1:00PM saturday and it burned till about 9:00 AM sunday, in that time the stove burned 120 lbs of coal. Is the stove burning coal too quickly?

Thanks
Steve

Mlou

Post by Mlou » Mon. Nov. 28, 2005 1:49 pm