Adjusting Barometric Damper...

Post Reply
 
User avatar
oliver power
Member
Posts: 2940
Joined: Sun. Apr. 16, 2006 9:28 am
Location: Near Dansville, NY
Stoker Coal Boiler: KEYSTOKER Kaa-2
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93 & 30-95, Vigilant (pre-2310), D.S. 1600 Circulator, Hitzer 254

Post by oliver power » Sun. Nov. 01, 2015 11:36 am

Any time I've read about adjusting the barometric damper, it's been mentioned that the fire be up to speed. I'm assuming that it's for creating draft. Or, to make sure the chimney IS drafting higher than adjustment target. My chimney always has draft, especially on a windy day. Yet, it's too warm to have a coal fire going in the shop. My question is: Do I need a fire when adjusting barometric damper? I have plenty of draft. After all, I am adjusting chimney draft/draw on stove, correct? I'm not adjusting the stove, I'm adjusting the chimney. Anyone ever adjust barometric damper with cold stove?


 
User avatar
joeq
Member
Posts: 5664
Joined: Sat. Feb. 11, 2012 11:53 am
Location: Northern CT
Hand Fed Coal Stove: G111, Southard Robertson

Post by joeq » Sun. Nov. 01, 2015 12:31 pm

I'm not a professional OP, but I would think you would need the stove running, measure the draft with a manometer, and adjust the baro accordingly. I can't imagine a cold chimney would have an accurate or consistent flow, as compared to a hot and running one. (But hey, that's just me)

 
User avatar
oliver power
Member
Posts: 2940
Joined: Sun. Apr. 16, 2006 9:28 am
Location: Near Dansville, NY
Stoker Coal Boiler: KEYSTOKER Kaa-2
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93 & 30-95, Vigilant (pre-2310), D.S. 1600 Circulator, Hitzer 254

Post by oliver power » Sun. Nov. 01, 2015 12:54 pm

joeq wrote:I'm not a professional OP, but I would think you would need the stove running, measure the draft with a manometer, and adjust the baro accordingly. I can't imagine a cold chimney would have an accurate or consistent flow, as compared to a hot and running one. (But hey, that's just me)
Yes, my thoughts as well. Yet, I really don't know. But HEY, why not play. I'm going out now, drill a hole, and set the barometric damper. Once I have a fire going, I'll check it again. Lets see what happens. Seeing we're playing (and I don't forget), I'll start out with the factory recommended -.06 setting.

 
scalabro
Member
Posts: 4197
Joined: Wed. Oct. 03, 2012 9:53 am
Location: Western Massachusetts
Baseburners & Antiques: Crawford 40, PP Stewart No. 14, Abendroth Bros "Record 40"
Coal Size/Type: Stove / Anthracite.
Other Heating: Oil fired, forced hot air.

Post by scalabro » Sun. Nov. 01, 2015 2:15 pm

oliver power wrote:
joeq wrote:I'm not a professional OP, but I would think you would need the stove running, measure the draft with a manometer, and adjust the baro accordingly. I can't imagine a cold chimney would have an accurate or consistent flow, as compared to a hot and running one. (But hey, that's just me)
Yes, my thoughts as well. Yet, I really don't know. But HEY, why not play. I'm going out now, drill a hole, and set the barometric damper. Once I have a fire going, I'll check it again. Lets see what happens. Seeing we're playing (and I don't forget), I'll start out with the factory recommended -.06 setting.
Your chimney would have to have an ambient draft of greater than .06 for you to adjust the baro to .06 without the stove running. It's nigh impossible for this to be the case.

 
User avatar
tcalo
Member
Posts: 2045
Joined: Tue. Dec. 13, 2011 4:57 pm
Location: Long Island, New York
Baseburners & Antiques: Crawford 40
Coal Size/Type: Nut/stove anthracite

Post by tcalo » Sun. Nov. 01, 2015 2:28 pm

-.06 is a strong draft with a cold stove!

 
User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 17785
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Location: Chazy, NY
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Jr

Post by Rob R. » Sun. Nov. 01, 2015 4:40 pm

No need to stress...set the weight at the .05 mark and leave it alone until cold weather, then fine tune.

 
User avatar
oliver power
Member
Posts: 2940
Joined: Sun. Apr. 16, 2006 9:28 am
Location: Near Dansville, NY
Stoker Coal Boiler: KEYSTOKER Kaa-2
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93 & 30-95, Vigilant (pre-2310), D.S. 1600 Circulator, Hitzer 254

Post by oliver power » Sun. Nov. 01, 2015 6:25 pm

Results are in......... The stove MUST have a fire when adjusting barometric damper. I drilled the hole in stove pipe. Calibrated my draft gauge to zero, and put probe in pipe. No matter what adjustments I made, the needle on the draft gauge jumped all over the place, depending on draw. Example: The gauge would read negative numbers of .05, .010, 0, .020, .06, 0, .015, .10, .05, 0, 20, etc.. Yes, readings anywhere from 0 to -.20. No fine tuning. No steady draft. Only raw chimney draft readings, changing with every gust. So, in a way, we really are adjusting stove draft when burning.


 
User avatar
joeq
Member
Posts: 5664
Joined: Sat. Feb. 11, 2012 11:53 am
Location: Northern CT
Hand Fed Coal Stove: G111, Southard Robertson

Post by joeq » Sun. Nov. 01, 2015 7:51 pm

Live and learn, now it's confirmed. Hmmmm :idea:
Roses are red, violets are blue....(never mind) :)

 
WIburnerPaul
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue. Feb. 28, 2023 4:33 am
Location: West Allis WI
Hand Fed Coal Stove: King Oak 19B
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Nut
Other Heating: Harman Absolute43 wood pellet. Lamppa Kuuma Vapor-Fire 200 gasification wood furnace.

Post by WIburnerPaul » Sat. Apr. 01, 2023 5:55 pm

Adjust the weight for horizontal or vertical? The BD will be 26” above the Kenmore stove, with a MD below. My friend Joe is asking the question.

Attachments


 
User avatar
Lightning
Site Moderator
Posts: 14473
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Location: Olean, NY
Stoker Coal Boiler: Modified AA 130
Coal Size/Type: Pea Size - Anthracite

Post by Lightning » Sat. Apr. 01, 2023 6:08 pm

Personally, I'd use the horizontal side in that situation..

 
User avatar
oliver power
Member
Posts: 2940
Joined: Sun. Apr. 16, 2006 9:28 am
Location: Near Dansville, NY
Stoker Coal Boiler: KEYSTOKER Kaa-2
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93 & 30-95, Vigilant (pre-2310), D.S. 1600 Circulator, Hitzer 254

Post by oliver power » Sat. Apr. 01, 2023 11:05 pm

WIburnerPaul wrote:
Sat. Apr. 01, 2023 5:55 pm
Adjust the weight for horizontal or vertical? The BD will be 26” above the Kenmore stove, with a MD below. My friend Joe is asking the question.
I would install it in the vertical pipe. If I'm not mistaken, the way you have it installed is not advised. Should be in the flow of horizontal, or vertical pipe, not the way you have it. Maybe raise it up 2 or 3 feet higher. Put a new hole. Looks like you don't have a hole where it is, or do you?

 
User avatar
warminmn
Member
Posts: 7810
Joined: Tue. Feb. 08, 2011 5:59 pm
Location: Land of 11,842 lakes
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Junior, Efel Nestor Martin, Riteway 37
Coal Size/Type: nut and stove anthracite, lignite
Other Heating: Wood and wear a wool shirt

Post by warminmn » Sun. Apr. 02, 2023 9:11 am

Like said, installing in a tee like that isnt advised, sorry.

 
WIburnerPaul
Member
Posts: 28
Joined: Tue. Feb. 28, 2023 4:33 am
Location: West Allis WI
Hand Fed Coal Stove: King Oak 19B
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite Nut
Other Heating: Harman Absolute43 wood pellet. Lamppa Kuuma Vapor-Fire 200 gasification wood furnace.

Post by WIburnerPaul » Sun. Apr. 02, 2023 8:48 pm

oliver power wrote:
Sat. Apr. 01, 2023 11:05 pm
I would install it in the vertical pipe. If I'm not mistaken, the way you have it installed is not advised. Should be in the flow of horizontal, or vertical pipe, not the way you have it. Maybe raise it up 2 or 3 feet higher. Put a new hole. Looks like you don't have a hole where it is, or do you?
No it is not in the hole yet. There is a member that posted a picture, showing a Tee coming out of a stove with a BD on the left and a 90° elbow on the right; going directly into the chimney. A manual says it is okay.

Attachments


 
User avatar
warminmn
Member
Posts: 7810
Joined: Tue. Feb. 08, 2011 5:59 pm
Location: Land of 11,842 lakes
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Junior, Efel Nestor Martin, Riteway 37
Coal Size/Type: nut and stove anthracite, lignite
Other Heating: Wood and wear a wool shirt

Post by warminmn » Sun. Apr. 02, 2023 10:23 pm

Theres conflicting info... The manual for the RC baro in the first picture says no. The manual for the TLC-2000 says yes.

Link to RC baro info and pic included https://www.fieldcontrols.com/wp-content/uploads/ ... _04-15.pdf

Attachments

Screenshot_2023-04-02_21-20-21.jpg
.JPG | 39.4KB | Screenshot_2023-04-02_21-20-21.jpg

 
User avatar
oliver power
Member
Posts: 2940
Joined: Sun. Apr. 16, 2006 9:28 am
Location: Near Dansville, NY
Stoker Coal Boiler: KEYSTOKER Kaa-2
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93 & 30-95, Vigilant (pre-2310), D.S. 1600 Circulator, Hitzer 254

Post by oliver power » Sun. Apr. 02, 2023 10:53 pm

warminmn wrote:
Sun. Apr. 02, 2023 10:23 pm
Theres conflicting info... The manual for the RC baro in the first picture says no. The manual for the TLC-2000 says yes.

Link to RC baro info and pic included https://www.fieldcontrols.com/wp-content/uploads/ ... _04-15.pdf
The stove manufacturer could be wrong. So I went straight to field controls like you did, and found the same sketch as you, saying NOT to put the barometric damper there. I down loaded it twice, but can't find it. So I went to the field controls site again using my cell phone. Found almost the same dammed sketch with a big OK. So I guess you put it wherever you feel like.

I agree with the sketch you posted warminmn. It should not be in the bend. The barometric damper should be in the exhaust flow of the pipe. I guess the answer is; WHO CARES, as long as it works.


Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”