DS 1600 Coal Stove Question

shoman70
Hand Fed Coal Stove: ds 1600
Coal Size/Type: nut coal

Post by shoman70 » Mon. Oct. 26, 2015 10:07 pm

I have the stove on very low (idle) temp in the middle of the stove is almost 400 degrees. temp at the top of the stove is only 180 degrees. I don't know why the temp difference is so great. I do understand temp reading more towards the fire will be higher. but that difference in temp seems to be alot. any input? also when I run the stove at idle it seems like the center of the stove is the only part I see red. the back and the front of the stove doesnt seem to be red????? is there a way to keep stove idle with the whole grate red below???

thanks

oliver power
Stoker Coal Boiler: KEYSTOKER Kaa-2
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93 & 30-95, Vigilant (pre-2310), D.S. 1600 Circulator, Hitzer 254

Post by oliver power » Mon. Oct. 26, 2015 11:57 pm

This is only a guess. I just started playing with same stove in shop. Built a couple wood fires for seasoning the new grates. Do you have a hopper full of coal between where you took your top measurement, and the fire? Another possibility; With such a low fire as you say, maybe your non-adjustable "cooler over fire air" is keeping temps down as well. Or maybe a combination of both. What kind of damper are you using? If a manual damper (or no damper), chimney would be tugging directly on cooler over fire air, creating a barrier between fire bed, and top of stove. A barometric damper would be pulling less on over fire air, and more on room air. If pulling room air, top of stove would be hotter, as less cooler over fire air would be drawn through the stove. This is all theory at this point. Not sure which way is better yet. As for the coal bed; not being red throughout while idling, I would think that's a good thing. You are letting in so little air, it's taking the path of least resistance. I found that once the back flapper closes, it cuts off air completely. I'm not so sure that's a good