Successfully Burning Anthracite Coal in a Clayton Furnace

Modern and vintage hand fired coal stove are similar to a wood stove and in some cases can burn either. They need to be regulated and fed by hand usually every 12 to 24 hours depending on your usage. They require no power to operate making them ideal for rural settings with long power outages.
User avatar
gitrdonecoal
Member
Posts: 491
Joined: Fri. Oct. 16, 2009 4:35 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90
Stove/Furnace Make: USSC
Stove/Furnace Model: Hotblast 1557
Location: Elba, NY

Post Wed. Nov. 04, 2009 12:45 pm

talked to pastor. he's gonna try a full bed of coal, shaking down less, and getting a baro. good luck bud
coal, the future of america

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
North Candlewood
Member
Posts: 239
Joined: Sun. Dec. 09, 2007 9:00 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Eshland S-130
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Keystoker A 120
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Clayton 1602
Baseburners & Antiques: Princess Atlantic Cookstove
Coal Size/Type: Nut Rice
Location: Ct

Post Wed. Nov. 04, 2009 1:19 pm

Pastor55
I sent you a PM check it please.
Charles

User avatar
gitrdonecoal
Member
Posts: 491
Joined: Fri. Oct. 16, 2009 4:35 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90
Stove/Furnace Make: USSC
Stove/Furnace Model: Hotblast 1557
Location: Elba, NY

Post Wed. Nov. 04, 2009 8:17 pm

How ya makin out tonight pastor? Remember, load that puppy right to the top of the firebrick. Call if ya need help.
Johb
coal, the future of america

eng11ine
Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu. Jan. 01, 2009 9:01 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Clayton
Stove/Furnace Model: 1600
Location: NE Pennsylvania

Post Wed. Nov. 04, 2009 11:29 pm

I recently installed my manometer. I have a reading of between .09-.1. The weight is at the low setting end on the baro. If I hold the baro open, I can drop it down to around .07. My question is do I need to install a bigger baro to keep the Clayton 1600 running at around .06 as recomended.
Chimmney is 8x8 Inside an exterior wall approx 30 feet tall
Current Weather rconditions, 45 deg, Light rain, light breeze.

the baro is an old one that was installed on my oil furnace. Before I installed, I cleaned it as best as possible.

May pick up a new one this weekend to see that makes a difference

as always any advice is definetly appreciated

User avatar
SMITTY
Member
Posts: 11915
Joined: Sun. Dec. 11, 2005 12:43 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Patriot Coal - (custom built by Jim Dorsey, Taunton MA - RIP 4/18/13)
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III (SOLD!)
Coal Size/Type: Rice / Blaschak anthracite
Other Heating: Oil fired Burnham boiler
Location: West-Central Mass

Post Wed. Nov. 04, 2009 11:44 pm

I'd have to say if your pulling that kind of draft in 45* weather, you'd better upgrade that baro! :) ;)
The laws that forbid the carrying of arms...disarm only those who are
neither inclined nor determined to commit crimes. ...Such laws make things worse
for the assaulted and better for the assailants, they serve rather to
encourage than to prevent homicides, for an unarmed man may be attacked with
greater confidence than an armed man."

- Thomas Jefferson, quoting 18th century criminologist Cesare Beccaria in "On
Crimes and Punishment."

User avatar
DOUG
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Wed. Jul. 09, 2008 8:49 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: CHUBBY, D.S.MACHINE BOILER
Stove/Furnace Model: CLAYTON 1600
Location: PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA

Post Thu. Nov. 05, 2009 5:55 am

I agree. Get a larger Barometric draft regulator. You'll have to buy some step up fittings to get it to fit to the smaller pipe. I had to do that with my chimney to get it to work. I have an 8" barometric draft regulator on my 6" Clayton 1600. I have a 7", 37' chimney in the center of the house and now it is tuned just right. :idea: :)

User avatar
pastor55
Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue. Nov. 03, 2009 2:55 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: clayton 1600m
Stove/Furnace Model: us stove

Post Thu. Nov. 05, 2009 7:29 am

hey guys,got home last around 5:00 ,got a fire going . I topped it up to the top didn't shake it, didn't touch it other then turned the draft knobs. That puppy ran all night got up 6:00 dismourning and everything looked great. Now the next thing is when do I shake it . I did poke up under the grates a little.Stove pipe last night about 1 foot from the stove was nice and warm to the touch like it should be. I'm happy for now. Thanks guys. matt

User avatar
gitrdonecoal
Member
Posts: 491
Joined: Fri. Oct. 16, 2009 4:35 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90
Stove/Furnace Make: USSC
Stove/Furnace Model: Hotblast 1557
Location: Elba, NY

Post Thu. Nov. 05, 2009 10:55 am

maybe in my experiences is wait 24 hours till your first shakedown, that sound right doug? remember after every shake make sure you see a glow underneath the grates. remember, don't shake too much. shake till you see glowing embers in the ash pan, then MAYBE a couple more shakes. if you remember in our phone talk, shaking too much will lead to the coal settling into every nook and cranny it can find, restricting air flow. ya see, your catching on! your gonna love coal. make sure you get a baro too. there is a thread on the forum titled manual pipe dampers, how and when. read it, lots of knowledge there. its actually safer from what I understand to have a baro. git r done my son!
John
coal, the future of america

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
gitrdonecoal
Member
Posts: 491
Joined: Fri. Oct. 16, 2009 4:35 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90
Stove/Furnace Make: USSC
Stove/Furnace Model: Hotblast 1557
Location: Elba, NY

Post Thu. Nov. 05, 2009 11:00 am

another good one is baro damper? in plumbing, venting, and chimney section. there it spells out how to install, operate, and tune in your baro :D
coal, the future of america

User avatar
DOUG
Member
Posts: 904
Joined: Wed. Jul. 09, 2008 8:49 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: CHUBBY, D.S.MACHINE BOILER
Stove/Furnace Model: CLAYTON 1600
Location: PITTSBURGH, PENNSYLVANIA

Post Thu. Nov. 05, 2009 12:17 pm

Yes, it took some time for me to discipline myself with leaving the coal fire alone and only shaking every 12, 18, or 24 hours. It is much different than burning wood. Burning anthracite has definitely made me a better wood burner too. Now understanding the different firing methods for burning either wood, bituminous coal, or anthracite coal, because of this great forum, my fuel consumption has been reduced and my overall home heating comfort is so much better. :)

User avatar
pastor55
Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue. Nov. 03, 2009 2:55 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: clayton 1600m
Stove/Furnace Model: us stove

Post Fri. Nov. 06, 2009 7:27 am

gitrdonecoal wrote:How ya makin out tonight pastor? Remember, load that puppy right to the top of the firebrick. Call if ya need help.
Johb
I'm doing pretty good with it so far.
matt

User avatar
gitrdonecoal
Member
Posts: 491
Joined: Fri. Oct. 16, 2009 4:35 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90
Stove/Furnace Make: USSC
Stove/Furnace Model: Hotblast 1557
Location: Elba, NY

Post Fri. Nov. 06, 2009 5:00 pm

ah fantastic sir! get that baro yet?
coal, the future of america

User avatar
pastor55
Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue. Nov. 03, 2009 2:55 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: clayton 1600m
Stove/Furnace Model: us stove

Post Mon. Nov. 09, 2009 8:17 am

gitrdonecoal wrote:ah fantastic sir! get that baro yet?
not yet

User avatar
gitrdonecoal
Member
Posts: 491
Joined: Fri. Oct. 16, 2009 4:35 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90
Stove/Furnace Make: USSC
Stove/Furnace Model: Hotblast 1557
Location: Elba, NY

Post Thu. Nov. 19, 2009 6:49 pm

how are all of our new hotblast and clayton owners doing so far? experiences? any problems? lets hear some feedback!
coal, the future of america

User avatar
pastor55
Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Tue. Nov. 03, 2009 2:55 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: clayton 1600m
Stove/Furnace Model: us stove

Post Fri. Nov. 20, 2009 12:56 pm

gitrdonecoal wrote:how are all of our new hotblast and clayton owners doing so far? experiences? any problems? lets hear some feedback!
shes still burning well.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”