Baro Size and Location

Modern and vintage hand fired coal stove are similar to a wood stove and in some cases can burn either. They need to be regulated and fed by hand usually every 12 to 24 hours depending on your usage. They require no power to operate making them ideal for rural settings with long power outages.
Post Reply
djackman
Member
Posts: 381
Joined: Sat. Jan. 19, 2008 12:01 am
Stove/Furnace Make: 1980 vintage Tarm
Stove/Furnace Model: FT22 (aka 202) installed!
Location: Long Island, NY

Post Fri. Feb. 08, 2008 12:53 am

I will be adding a baro damper to my stove soon but need some guidance on what size and where to put it. Currently there is a 4" pipe from the back of the stove going up vertical (about 4 foot run) to a 4"-6" adapter to a 90deg 6" elbow that goes into the flue.

#1 Use a 4" baro in the vertical run from the stove to the adapter?

#2 Replace the 6" elbow into the flue with a T, put 6" baro on other side?

For the times I need to reconnect gas furnace it would be easier to do #1 (sucks to do but the cat can't load the stove when I'm gone for 2-3 days, my friends are all coal/wood illiterate)
3 years w/ wood stove -> 1 year w/ coal stove -> coal boiler installed 10/3/08.... it's evolution baby!

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9827
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Fri. Feb. 08, 2008 8:11 am

djackman wrote:I will be adding a baro damper to my stove soon but need some guidance on what size and where to put it. Currently there is a 4" pipe from the back of the stove going up vertical (about 4 foot run) to a 4"-6" adapter to a 90deg 6" elbow that goes into the flue.

#1 Use a 4" baro in the vertical run from the stove to the adapter?

#2 Replace the 6" elbow into the flue with a T, put 6" baro on other side?

For the times I need to reconnect gas furnace it would be easier to do #1 (sucks to do but the cat can't load the stove when I'm gone for 2-3 days, my friends are all coal/wood illiterate)
The baro should be sized to the chimney and not the stovepipe. This should help you determine what you need based on your chimney, just scroll to sizing. Your gas stovepipe can be refitted to go in before the baro.

http://www.fieldcontrols.com/draftcontrol.php#sizingdi
Nothing is impossible for people who don't have to do it themselves.

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”