Burning Coal in Modified Wood Stove

Peter B.

Post by Peter B. » Tue. Feb. 05, 2008 12:35 pm

Hello... just found this forum.

I have an antique parlor stove that I've retrofitted for improved (wood burning) efficiency and safety. I've used it in modified form for quite a few years and am happy with its performance.

However, it has been a nasty winter here in SW Wisconsin, and my wood supply is running low. I am thinking - as an experiment - of trying to burn coal in the same stove, as a supplement to wood.

I'm just beginning to think about this, and thought I'd ask for opinions on my chances of success with the setup I have.

Already, the cast iron firebox has been lined with firebrick, there is an underfire draft (as well as a side draft), and I have replaced the original grate with a small shaker style grate. The depth of the firebrick is about 8 inches at present. I also installed an internal baffle to make the stove (effectively) a base burner, and to slow the flow of exhaust through the stove. I am able to set a wood fire to a crawl if need be, and have no problems with 'runaway' burns.

I don't as yet know what type of coal (if any) might be available locally. I'm only heating three small rooms in an older frame farmhouse, and thinking my coal use would be limited to the coldest days.

I guess my main concern at the start is whether the (underside) draft will be sufficient... and whether the shaker will be effective with coal ash... but I may be overlooking some other obvious issues.

What think any of you?

Thanks for all replies.

Peter B.

-----

LsFarm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland

Post by LsFarm » Tue. Feb. 05, 2008 1:00 pm

Hi Peter, welcome to the forum. From your description, you have the main ingrediants for a coal burning stove. The only way to tell if it works well is to try it.