Crane Model 202

zeke1256
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Crane 202 Coal Cooker, Harman Mark 1
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Other Heating: oil, propane, electric, wood

Post by zeke1256 » Wed. Feb. 19, 2014 11:46 am

I have a Crane model 202 which I bought used around 1986. I did try some bagged coal shortly after buying it, but have been using wood in it since I get the wood for free. I'm an outside worker, landscaper, so I collect the wood during the summer and store it for winter use. Because of the extreme cold winter this year, I live in NW CT near the MA border in a very cold location, elevation of 1328 ft.

I was going thru too much wood so I found a coal source not too far away and first bought 600 lbs. blaschek nut coal, on Jan. 27, then 800 lbs. about a week ago. I fired up the stove soon after I got the coal using paper and small hardwood sticks. It fired up nicely but I had trouble keeping it going after say 12 hrs. I'm still learning the coal process and don't really know the sequence of loading it and shaking the ash down. I can get two days or so of good burn but it seems I can't get enough ash down and I'm afraid of shaking too much or too little. Around 10 or 11pm, I add coal, wait about 15 - 20 min. then shake it down good. It goes all night then around 8 - 9 am I do the same process and lately this has been working for a couple days straight. But in time, in the morning, it dies out and I shake it down real good, get out most of the ash and restart it. Today I used a Wagner heat gun on high setting which I read about in another internet posting. This worked well but it still takes about 2 hrs to get up to temp. It's easlier and quicker I think then the paper wood method.