New to Coal, Some Direction Needed...??

Crow Horse
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Golden Flame
Coal Size/Type: chestnut
Other Heating: kero

Post by Crow Horse » Sun. Feb. 16, 2014 1:31 pm

I'm new to coal and my learning curve is much flatter than I wish it to be. I've been reading through posts trying to get a handle and feel for burning coal but my re-education has been slow. I have had some minor successes and have been able to start the anthracite chestnut coal I'm using quite easily. My problem is trying to keep it burning longer than 6 or 7 hours.
I have a Golden Flame stove and part of my failures might be that I'm trying to use it beyond it's design parameters. I am fairly certain than a big part of this equation is my inexperience with coal.
I've tried different damper/ash door settings and have had little improvement. I really don't think my issues are draft related but I could be wrong.
After starting, I can get the stove quite hot and might be getting it too hot and burning it out too soon. My efforts to shake/rake and add new never really resuscitate the burn.
Any suggestions or direction would be greatly appreciated....

All Good Medicine,
Crow

Carbon12
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite
Other Heating: Heat Pump/Forced Hot Air Oil Furnace

Post by Carbon12 » Sun. Feb. 16, 2014 1:36 pm

A manometer to check the draft and some stove thermometers would be a good place to start. Do you load the coal up to the top of the fire bricks (if any) when reloading?

wsherrick
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Glenwood Base Heater, Crawford Base Heater
Baseburners & Antiques: Crawford Base Heater, Glenwood, Stanley Argand
Coal Size/Type: Chestnut, Stove Size

Post by wsherrick » Sun. Feb. 16, 2014 1:39 pm

What is the fuel capacity of the stove and can we possibly see some pictures of it? Pictures are a big help.

Crow Horse

Post by Crow Horse » Sun. Feb. 16, 2014 1:43 pm