Mt Vernon Vernoisse Stove

Modern and vintage hand fired coal stove are similar to a wood stove and in some cases can burn either. They need to be regulated and fed by hand usually every 12 to 24 hours depending on your usage. They require no power to operate making them ideal for rural settings with long power outages.
Post Reply
blacksmith425
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun. Jan. 05, 2014 8:05 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Losch
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Baker
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vernois
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Other Heating: Geothermal
Location: Just outside of Coal country, Pennsylvania

Post Mon. Jan. 06, 2014 6:06 pm

Hello all.

I just (as of Saturday) Installed a Mt Vernon Mfg. " Vernoisse" Hand fired Stove. I am not too new to coal but new to Hand fired coal stoves. It seems to work and hold fire well, but I am having a problem with the coal "sticking " to the sides of the firepot. This morning I went to rake it down and realized I had a hollow fire that had burned out underneath but didnt drop down in the firebox. it was burning really on the top few inches however. is there a good method to counterract that or is it a coal quality issue or an issue in the way I am raking it down. Any pointers would be great.

Thanks!

User avatar
freetown fred
Member
Posts: 21415
Joined: Thu. Dec. 31, 2009 12:33 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut
Location: Freetown,NY 13803

Post Mon. Jan. 06, 2014 6:11 pm

Welcome to the FORUM bs--some pix could help:)
"A people that values it's privileges above it's principals, soon loses both"--Dwight D Eisenhower

User avatar
ONEDOLLAR
Verified Business Rep.
Posts: 1867
Joined: Thu. Dec. 01, 2011 6:09 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: 2014 Chubby Prototype
Coal Size/Type: Nut/Anthracite
Location: Sooner Country Oklahoma
Contact:

Post Mon. Jan. 06, 2014 6:12 pm

blacksmith

WELCOME! Any chance you can post a pic or two of your stove and the firepot? This will help. Sometimes I get a hollow spot in my Crawford BB. I just give it a gentle poke and the coal falls down to the grate. No big deal. At least for my unit.

Again WELCOME! Don't be shy if you have questions. People on the forum love to help out.

Tell us what part of the US you are in as well. You never know a fellow NEPA member may live close and be willing to help you out in person if needed.
It is the small things in life that push us over the edge........

Visit Hitzer Stoves

blacksmith425
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun. Jan. 05, 2014 8:05 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Losch
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Baker
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vernois
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Other Heating: Geothermal
Location: Just outside of Coal country, Pennsylvania

Post Mon. Jan. 06, 2014 6:31 pm

I am about an hour west of Wilkes Barre , and here is a pic.....
Attachments
IMG_20140105_091651.jpg

coalnewbie
Member
Posts: 6199
Joined: Sat. May. 24, 2008 4:26 pm
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: LL AnthraKing 180K, Pocono110K,KStokr 90K, DVC
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Invader 2
Baseburners & Antiques: Wings Best, Glenwood #8(x2) Herald 116x
Coal Size/Type: Rice,
Other Heating: Heating Oil CH, Toyotomi OM 22
Location: Chester, NY

Post Mon. Jan. 06, 2014 6:40 pm

What sized coal are you using for this stove? I thought the Losch used barley size? How do you store the coal.
Posted by an unreasonable adult.

blacksmith425
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun. Jan. 05, 2014 8:05 am
Stoker Coal Boiler: Losch
Hot Air Coal Stoker Furnace: Baker
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Vernois
Coal Size/Type: Nut
Other Heating: Geothermal
Location: Just outside of Coal country, Pennsylvania

Post Mon. Jan. 06, 2014 6:54 pm

coalnewbie wrote:What sized coal are you using for this stove? I thought the Losch used barley size? How do you store the coal.
Coalnewbie, The Losch is used in our machine shop. It is a rice stoker that puts out about 1.5m BTUS . We burn 40 tons of coal a year through that unit. We have an enclosed bin that houses our coal in the warmth, and the stoker is auger fed from the bin to the stoker unit's feed hopper.

Currently I am trying to figure out my vernoisse hand fired unit in my house. I am burning nut coal in that specific machine. The small amount of Nut that I have acquired has a fairly large quantity of fines in it, and I suspect that is causing me problems as well as me being new to a hand fired unit.

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”