Ordered a Harman 2500A Furnace

chap

Post by chap » Mon. Jan. 21, 2008 8:53 am

Hi all, I am new to this forum.I am hoping to be able to call on the Harman users for recommendations and insight on the operations. I have not received the furnace yet, but I am expecting it to come in this week. I am looking forward to getting my Harman furnace. The Clayton furnace I have been using for 3 years is great if I offer it therapy every 30 minutes. Anyway I am ready to move on to harman. Tips and tricks would be appreciated. :)

sandman

Post by sandman » Wed. Jan. 23, 2008 12:03 pm

i'm looking at getting one of these now.

for me the biggest reason i'd go with a furnace over a boiler is because I want to burn wood and coal.

from what iv'e read burning wood in the boilers doesn't work out too well due to creosol building up on the water jacket.

if wood wasn't free (other than my time) i'd be burning coal in a boiler

let us know how you make out with your new furnace.

coalkirk
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1981 EFM DF520 retired
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Jotul 507 on standby
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh anthracite/rice coal

Post by coalkirk » Wed. Jan. 23, 2008 4:28 pm

Sandman,

If you are getting wood for free, you'd be better off selling it by the cord to pay for your coal. I'm sure you've read it here but the combo units don't burn coal as well as a dedicated coal burner. Also, I used a wood boiler for years and they work ok but you've got to feed it probably 3 times a day, when the weather gets less severe, they don't idle well which means lots of creosote. Lots of creosote means chimney fire. I'd reconsider if I were you. Just some friendly advice

sandman

Post by sandman » Wed. Jan. 23, 2008 6:10 pm

coalkirk wrote:Sandman,