Shaking a Chubby

lew

Post by lew » Sun. Dec. 29, 2013 1:28 pm

I am new to hand fed stoves, so bear with me. Recently I purchased a Coal Chubby for $100, added $10 worth of gaskets and voila, nice heat. Such a steal I thought. It puts out plenty of heat for my 900 Square foot shop (with just a tarp for a door at present). The problem is shaking down the ashes. I am trying to keep it going all night so there are enough coals in the bottom to get it going again in the morning. I have been successful only twice, with a nice glowing bed of coals 10 hours after last firing. Most of the time the coal has burned out and not burned up the coal, just suffocated itself. I have tried shaking gently, vigorously, only a couple times to many times. what's the secret?

ONEDOLLAR
Verified Business Rep.
Hand Fed Coal Stove: 2014 Chubby Prototype
Coal Size/Type: Nut/Anthracite

Post by ONEDOLLAR » Sun. Dec. 29, 2013 1:35 pm

Lew

What size of coal are you using? Try giving it a little more air when you leave the show. Also might not hurt to give a few poker through the grates after you shake down and fill her up.

Do you have a manual pipe damper installed? A Baro? What is you location. All of these things help us figure these things out. You should have no problems getting an easy 12 hour burn time with no problems getting her going back up to temp with a Chubby. I was getting 14 hours with a Chubby Jr and I get an easy 16 now with the new Chubby. I wonder if your tarp for a door could be causing some draft issues?

jjs777_fzr
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Penn Coal Stove & Chubby
Other Heating: CFM Wood Stove & Englander 25-PDVC Pellet Stove

Post by jjs777_fzr » Sun. Dec. 29, 2013 2:16 pm

Here's the url to the video from the manufacturer. It helped me realize how important it is to poke the fire.
The shaking mechanism is not going to be enough to maintain a good airflow through the bed.

http://vimeo.com/8506320

buffalo bob
Hand Fed Coal Stove: hitzer 354 and a 254