How Much Coal Should I Be Using??

Modern and vintage hand fired coal stove are similar to a wood stove and in some cases can burn either. They need to be regulated and fed by hand usually every 12 to 24 hours depending on your usage. They require no power to operate making them ideal for rural settings with long power outages.
Loco627
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue. Oct. 22, 2013 11:22 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine Circulator 1500
Stove/Furnace Make: DS Machine
Stove/Furnace Model: 1500 Circulator
Location: Wagontown, PA

Post Thu. Dec. 12, 2013 9:24 pm

Rob R. wrote:That basement is absorbing a lot of heat.
I'm sure it is! I intend to start putting foam insulation board on at least the top 4 feet of block that is not underground after Christmas. I'm hoping that will help some.
Carbon12 wrote:How is the warm air getting from the basement to the first floor?
I have a bi level, the basement doors are open to the stairs. Sort of centrally located in the house. I also cut a vent in the floor in the hallway and one in the kitchen. I disconnected a heating duct in the far end of the house to use a return, although I think that needs to be made bigger. It's a pretty small duct.

User avatar
Carbon12
Member
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue. Oct. 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite
Other Heating: Heat Pump/Forced Hot Air Oil Furnace
Location: Harrisburg, PA

Post Thu. Dec. 12, 2013 9:28 pm

Have you tried running the fan on the existing furnace to help circulate the air around the house? As long as the existing furnace is in a heated space, circulating the air might help.
No matter where you go,......there you are.

Loco627
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue. Oct. 22, 2013 11:22 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine Circulator 1500
Stove/Furnace Make: DS Machine
Stove/Furnace Model: 1500 Circulator
Location: Wagontown, PA

Post Thu. Dec. 12, 2013 9:32 pm

Carbon12 wrote:Have you tried running the fan on the existing furnace to help circulate the air around the house? As long as the existing furnace is in a heated space, circulating the air might help.
I've considered it. My forced air oil system has no returns, it just pulls air straight from the basement. :? It would probably work pretty well in this situation because of that, but I wanted to try everything I could first to not use electric and not listen to the fan run.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
Carbon12
Member
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue. Oct. 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite
Other Heating: Heat Pump/Forced Hot Air Oil Furnace
Location: Harrisburg, PA

Post Thu. Dec. 12, 2013 9:49 pm

You might be able to lower the fan speed resulting in less noise. A lower speed would probably be better for circulation.
No matter where you go,......there you are.

User avatar
Carbon12
Member
Posts: 2230
Joined: Tue. Oct. 11, 2011 6:53 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Keystoker KA-6
Coal Size/Type: Rice/Anthracite
Other Heating: Heat Pump/Forced Hot Air Oil Furnace
Location: Harrisburg, PA

Post Fri. Dec. 13, 2013 8:31 am

You could also try removing the blower compartment door and air filter from your oil furnace and see if the supply duct system will act as a passive return duct system. Assuming you're not using the oil furnace currently. I'm curious If that would work :D
No matter where you go,......there you are.

Loco627
Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Tue. Oct. 22, 2013 11:22 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine Circulator 1500
Stove/Furnace Make: DS Machine
Stove/Furnace Model: 1500 Circulator
Location: Wagontown, PA

Post Fri. Dec. 13, 2013 4:40 pm

That's probably a good idea. I'll give it a shot.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
Chuck_Steak
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Wed. Jan. 06, 2010 9:03 pm
Coal Size/Type: mostly nut, sometimes stove, Santa brand
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Mark III
Location: New Hampster

Post Fri. Dec. 13, 2013 6:53 pm

Loco627 wrote:
.... I intend to start putting foam insulation board on at least the top 4 feet of block that is not underground after Christmas.
I'm hoping that will help some.
You won't believe the difference...
Guarandoubleteed.

Dan.
Thank God for the moon...
It gives us light at night, when we need it.
Not like the sun that gives us light in the daytime,
when we don't need it.

ColdHouse
Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu. Nov. 08, 2012 12:06 pm
Location: Bristol, CT
Contact:

Post Sun. Dec. 15, 2013 8:17 am

High temperatures during the day here are in the teens lows in single digits. I am burning 100# a day heating a 1982 house with over 3000 square feet using 2 stoves. A smaller glacier bay in the finished walkout lower level and a Hitzer 503 insert on the main level. Lower level is nice and toasty and we leave the door at the top of the stairs open. That stoves uses 20# a day. The Hitzer is using 40# twice a day. House is warm. With oil last year I used 180 gallons every 5 weeks but kept the house 62 while awake and home and 58 when away or asleep. Regarding venting It may not be that difficult to reconfigure what was intended to be heat vent into a supply for the blower on your furnace. I did this. I had 2 heat vents in close proximity of the stove. I found that duct and hooked that up and used it as my intake to my blower and redistribute the warm air to my second floor via existing ductwork.

User avatar
nortcan
Member
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sat. Feb. 20, 2010 3:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Stuart,Peterson/ Grander
Stove/Furnace Model: Sunnyside/ Golden Bride
Location: Qc Canada

Post Sun. Dec. 15, 2013 8:30 am

Like someone said, try to get the fan RPm as low as you can. Less noise and the moved air seems warmer when moving slowly.
Air circulation is very efficient to get all the house confortable, insulation is an other must when wanting to keep that confort Inside of the house :)

ddahlgren
Member
Posts: 1665
Joined: Tue. Feb. 19, 2013 3:30 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Crane 404
Location: Mystic CT
Contact:

Post Tue. Dec. 17, 2013 8:17 am

bigjoe35 wrote:Hi there im new to the site but have found it very helpfull and I have a question about coal cunsumption.
I have a 30-95 with blower and anthracite nut coal, I am using a 6" pipe from vents in scranton pa. Im heating a 1900 square ft doublewide the stove is located in thge living room and the floor plan is very open. How much coal roughly should I be using?
And also should I buy a timer for the blower or just run it all the time with the dial a temp?
Thanks for any help
The obvious question is where do you live and what is the average weather your house wind load etc.
At the end of the day it will be cheaper than anything else.

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”