Vigilant Gaskets

Modern and vintage hand fired coal stove are similar to a wood stove and in some cases can burn either. They need to be regulated and fed by hand usually every 12 to 24 hours depending on your usage. They require no power to operate making them ideal for rural settings with long power outages.
Post Reply
User avatar
bchill61
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun. Nov. 11, 2012 7:19 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Vermont castings
Stove/Furnace Model: vigilant 1977
Location: Stamford, CT.

Post Mon. Nov. 04, 2013 10:45 pm

Hello All,
This is my second season burning coal in a beautiful vigilant I found on graigs list last year and with help from all the wonderful posts here it was very enjoyable. last month I started changing the gaskets and have fornd all but one it is 1/8 x 1 1/2 x 17 wire reinforced fiberglass and is installed under the front grate and seals the gap between the front grate and the doors. I know from reading here that most people have installed their own gasket here but this one appeares to be installed by the factory see attached photos.
Does anyone else have this factory installed gasket and does anyone know where I can get a replacement without having to order 100 ft
Thanks, Brian
Attachments
vig grate.jpg

User avatar
bchill61
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun. Nov. 11, 2012 7:19 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Vermont castings
Stove/Furnace Model: vigilant 1977
Location: Stamford, CT.

Post Mon. Nov. 04, 2013 10:53 pm

here she is all coal parts removed burning wood till it gets colder
Attachments
vig.jpg

franco b
Site Moderator
Posts: 8437
Joined: Wed. Nov. 05, 2008 5:11 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: V ermont Castings 2310, Franco Belge 262
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood Modern Oak 114
Coal Size/Type: nut and pea
Location: Kent CT

Post Mon. Nov. 04, 2013 10:58 pm

With the variety of gasket material available at most stove shops Why can't you find something to fit? From what I have read it seems that most stoves of that model came without that gasket and users have had to glue one on. Yours has that metal strip to hold it.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
bchill61
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun. Nov. 11, 2012 7:19 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Vermont castings
Stove/Furnace Model: vigilant 1977
Location: Stamford, CT.

Post Tue. Nov. 05, 2013 7:59 pm

Thanks for the thought franko as a last resort I guess I will have to find something that may work at the local stove shop here but was hoping somebody here had the same type set-up. I have found the material on line thur wholesalers but the min order is 100 feet I only need 17"

User avatar
nortcan
Member
Posts: 3080
Joined: Sat. Feb. 20, 2010 3:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Stuart,Peterson/ Grander
Stove/Furnace Model: Sunnyside/ Golden Bride
Location: Qc Canada

Post Tue. Nov. 05, 2013 9:21 pm

Brian, nice installation you have.
Regular rope gaskets found in hardware stores will make the job . Just find the good size for your application: some are round and others are flat...and not expensive at all.
Do you place the thermometer at that place during all the heating season? :roll: Usually it's supposed to be on the top griddle's center.

User avatar
bchill61
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun. Nov. 11, 2012 7:19 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Vermont castings
Stove/Furnace Model: vigilant 1977
Location: Stamford, CT.

Post Tue. Nov. 05, 2013 9:44 pm

nortcan wrote:Brian, nice installation you have.
Regular rope gaskets found in hardware stores will make the job . Just find the good size for your application: some are round and others are flat...and not expensive at all.
Do you place the thermometer at that place during all the heating season? :roll: Usually it's supposed to be on the top griddle's center.
Thank you nortcan.
Not many options for stove parts here in stamford CT. so parts are hard to come by im sure I will find something that will work but was more interested if anyone had the same set-up.
Yes I do leave the thermo there. it is the hottest area of the stove when the coal hopper is installed. the griddle does not get that hot and is tough to even boil water on unless I have it cranked up high. That one is there mostly for referance and I use a infered thermo alot to scan the surface from time to time. This is a great stove and I find it very responsive due to the thermostatic air control and never let it fire over 450f

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”