Pipe on Harman Markii

Post Reply
GAMESNIPER
Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon. Apr. 09, 2007 10:18 am
Stove/Furnace Make: HARMAN
Stove/Furnace Model: Mag Stoker

Post Thu. Jan. 10, 2008 10:39 am

do I need any dampners in stove pipe off of stove... I purchased a this stove used.. couple of friends said harmen don't want anything in stove pipe can anyone answer my concern

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5868
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Thu. Jan. 10, 2008 10:43 am

I would think a minumum would be a "barometric damper", DO A search on here for them. this controls the heat going up your chimney.

User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7384
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Thu. Jan. 10, 2008 11:16 am

Harman's manual specificly states to not install a manual damper in the flue pipe. Depending on how well your chimney draws, how consistant the draw is, and several other variables, you may not need a baro damper, you may be able to control your fire very well just with the air inlet controls [spinner knobs] on the ashpan door. [as long as the gaskets on the doors are in good shape]

A baro is a good idea, and once set up is a good device to even out the changes in draft from temperature changes, wind, and fire output changes.

Hope this helps. Greg L

.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

GAMESNIPER
Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon. Apr. 09, 2007 10:18 am
Stove/Furnace Make: HARMAN
Stove/Furnace Model: Mag Stoker

Post Thu. Jan. 10, 2008 11:51 am

where should the baro dampner be installed in pipe any specific location?

User avatar
WNY
Member
Posts: 5868
Joined: Mon. Nov. 14, 2005 8:40 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice
Stove/Furnace Make: Keystoker, LL & CoalTrol
Stove/Furnace Model: 90K, Hyfire I, VF3000 Soon
Location: Cuba, NY
Contact:

Post Thu. Jan. 10, 2008 12:52 pm

Any Horizontal or Veritcal (Recommended) run of straight pipe, check the Field Controls Website, they offer many suggestions for mounting.
**Broken Link(s) Removed**I think no closer than 18" from the stove is normally recommended. You just have to set the weights on the Baro for the proper orientation and adjust accordingly.

User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7384
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Thu. Jan. 10, 2008 6:11 pm

The proper and most accurate way to set the barometric damper is with a draft gauge. called a manometer. The forum has a manometer loaner program. You can PM member Matthaus and get on the mailing list.

The marks on the baro damper are a close setting, but each instalation is different, so setting it with a virtually free 'loaner manometer' is available if you wish to.

Here is the link to the loaner program thread: Manometer Loaner Program

Greg L.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
CoalHeat
Site Moderator
Posts: 8332
Joined: Sat. Feb. 10, 2007 9:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1959 EFM 350
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Magnafire Mark I
Baseburners & Antiques: Sears Signal Oak 15 & Andes Kitchen Range
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Fisher Fireplace Insert
Location: Stillwater, New Jersey

Post Thu. Jan. 10, 2008 7:30 pm

GAMESNIPER wrote:do I need any dampners in stove pipe off of stove... I purchased a this stove used.. couple of friends said harmen don't want anything in stove pipe can anyone answer my concern
Is this the stove you were looking at (refered to in other posts)?

User avatar
CoalHeat
Site Moderator
Posts: 8332
Joined: Sat. Feb. 10, 2007 9:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1959 EFM 350
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Magnafire Mark I
Baseburners & Antiques: Sears Signal Oak 15 & Andes Kitchen Range
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Fisher Fireplace Insert
Location: Stillwater, New Jersey

Post Thu. Jan. 10, 2008 7:30 pm

If you haven't gotten the manual, let me know. I can scan at and e-mail it to you. Search the posts to find pics of my stove with the baro damper installed.

GAMESNIPER
Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Mon. Apr. 09, 2007 10:18 am
Stove/Furnace Make: HARMAN
Stove/Furnace Model: Mag Stoker

Post Fri. Jan. 11, 2008 12:23 am

Yes this is the stove I was asking about in other post just picked it up tonight it was a markII very nice shape only needs door gasket ...i got manual off of website it says do not install manual,automatic dampners in pipe does anyone not use a dampner ....hopefully I get it hooked up this weekend and give it a burn hope it heats my new 2 story stick built home let me know about dampner...thanks for you guys answering my questions

User avatar
CoalHeat
Site Moderator
Posts: 8332
Joined: Sat. Feb. 10, 2007 9:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1959 EFM 350
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Magnafire Mark I
Baseburners & Antiques: Sears Signal Oak 15 & Andes Kitchen Range
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Fisher Fireplace Insert
Location: Stillwater, New Jersey

Post Fri. Jan. 11, 2008 6:17 am

You won't be disappointed with the stove.
The manual forbids use of a manual damper. It states that a baro damper may be used, they are indicating that it's not needed if the chimney does not draft over 1.0" WC with a full fire. You need to check the draft with a manometer once the stove is installed. The easiest way is to install it with the baro damper, otherwise you may need to re-pipe if you find you need the baro later on.
Most chimneys will pull more draft then you need, so I'd go with the baro. The worst that will happen is that it will stay closed all the time. Use Field Controls Model RC Barometric Damper. If you have too much draft high pipe temperatures, short burn times, and a lot of your heat will go up the chimney, along with all the $$$ you paid for all that nice coal will be the result.

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”