How to Light a Hand Fired Coal Stove

Modern and vintage hand fired coal stove are similar to a wood stove and in some cases can burn either. They need to be regulated and fed by hand usually every 12 to 24 hours depending on your usage. They require no power to operate making them ideal for rural settings with long power outages.
Post Reply
User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Tue. Dec. 02, 2008 6:23 pm

JLF53 wrote:Will let you know how it works.
It'll work. ;)

Have fun...It gets easier with experience!
War is a game that is played with a smile. If you can't smile, grin. If you can't grin, keep out of the way till you can.
Winston Churchill
Shaking & Poking The TLC2000 Video

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
JLF53
Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon. Sep. 15, 2008 4:58 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Hunterdon County New Jersey

Post Tue. Dec. 02, 2008 7:17 pm

Hi,

It was not my fire! I am waiting until tomorrow. I live on East Main Street. I will try to light it again tomorrow after buying cedar shingles to start the coal. I think my issue is trying to heat a large long flue in order to get a draft and using Kingsford which does not get hot enough to ignite the coal.

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Tue. Dec. 02, 2008 7:21 pm

goto
**Broken Link(s) Removed** & on page 5, remove the "Clean-Out Cover" (lifts out) & put burning newspapers up into the chimney to get a good draft going, then replace the cover & start the main fire.
War is a game that is played with a smile. If you can't smile, grin. If you can't grin, keep out of the way till you can.
Winston Churchill
Shaking & Poking The TLC2000 Video

User avatar
JLF53
Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon. Sep. 15, 2008 4:58 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Hunterdon County New Jersey

Post Tue. Dec. 02, 2008 7:29 pm

goto
**Broken Link(s) Removed** & on page 5, remove the "Clean-Out Cover" (lifts out) & put burning newspapers up into the chimney to get a good draft going, then replace the cover & start the main fire.

Thanks I willl try this as well as the other suggestions. Once it gets burning I will no longer have this issue, with any luck.

User avatar
tvb
Member
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun. Dec. 02, 2007 8:13 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing III

Post Tue. Dec. 02, 2008 7:42 pm

Definitely try the easy way for establishing the draft with a small fire in the cleanout or newspaper up the stove pipe if you can access it - fans and hair dryers are just going to blow ash and stuff around.

And we are very close neighbors - I'm on North Main. It's the two story colonial with big pine trees out front and one very tall masonry chimney on the outside of the house. What is Agway charging for bagged coal this year?

User avatar
JLF53
Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon. Sep. 15, 2008 4:58 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Hunterdon County New Jersey

Post Tue. Dec. 02, 2008 9:00 pm

goto
**Broken Link(s) Removed** & on page 5, remove the "Clean-Out Cover" (lifts out) & put burning newspapers up into the chimney to get a good draft going, then replace the cover & start the main fire.

I live directly across from Hopewell Avenue in a yellow house.

I do not buy coal from Agway. I bought my coal from a company in Easton, PA Blazchek chestnut for $229/ton plus a delivery fee. They delivered it to my coal bin in the cellar through the window.

User avatar
tvb
Member
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun. Dec. 02, 2007 8:13 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing III

Post Wed. Dec. 03, 2008 9:33 pm

Do you have the cat with three legs? I've seen it a couple times outside right around there. Hopewell and E. Main is on my summer bike/exercise/walking route around the boro.

Did you get the stove fired up today?

Too bad we burn different coal sizes. It would be a perfect situation to split a load and save money.

User avatar
JLF53
Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon. Sep. 15, 2008 4:58 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Hunterdon County New Jersey

Post Thu. Dec. 04, 2008 1:16 am

tvb wrote:Do you have the cat with three legs? I've seen it a couple times outside right around there. Hopewell and E. Main is on my summer bike/exercise/walking route around the boro.

Did you get the stove fired up today?

Too bad we burn different coal sizes. It would be a perfect situation to split a load and save money.
\

Hi

No cats or dogs. Two college students and a husband. Spent 4.5 hours at the neurosurgeon's office and did not feel like trying to start the stove after cleaning it and the ash pan. I am burning chestnut size just because I had to pick.

Perhaps we could split some pea size if that is what you burn. I am open to pea if I can find a 50 lb bag to try. Today I went to Agway to get a bag of Blasceck pea but Agway is not selling it at the Flemington store this year.

The coal supplier in Easton only delivers 4 tons or less for the same delivery price. but they are very nice and honest.

If I get this stove going I should have enough until at least the end of February since I have 4 tons. But I intend to keep it warm on the house and run the stove at 300 degrees F. Last January to February I spent 700 dollars on natural gas and the thermostat was at 60. I cannot take that cold any more!!!!

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
tvb
Member
Posts: 1055
Joined: Sun. Dec. 02, 2007 8:13 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Channing III

Post Thu. Dec. 04, 2008 5:36 am

Check you PMs

User avatar
JLF53
Member
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon. Sep. 15, 2008 4:58 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Make: Leisure Line
Stove/Furnace Model: Pocono
Location: Hunterdon County New Jersey

Post Thu. Dec. 04, 2008 3:15 pm

Still unable to get the coal to light. Desperate!

Jack Magnum
Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon. May. 05, 2008 10:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: Cossayuna lake in N.Y.

Post Thu. Dec. 04, 2008 3:23 pm

Devil,
Just starting coal fire. Do I initially have both the ash door and bottom coal air draft open ?

Jack Magnum
Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon. May. 05, 2008 10:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: Cossayuna lake in N.Y.

Post Thu. Dec. 04, 2008 4:12 pm

I've tried wood fire and throwing some match light on it and at first put about 7 lbs of coal on and around grate. I just put in another 3 lbs of coal after about an hour but I am not getting much action. Ash door is open. What should I try

User avatar
Devil505
Member
Posts: 7110
Joined: Tue. Jul. 03, 2007 10:44 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: SE Massachusetts

Post Thu. Dec. 04, 2008 5:02 pm

To JLF & Jack.....leave the ash door open while lighting coal from either wood or charcoal. (You may have to close it quite a bit if it starts to overfire) The slide air control position makes no difference Jack, since you will have the door open anyway. Both of you should make sure your secondary air sliders are closed (down) Control the fire by adding more coal, but make sure you leave a section of flame showing.

Copied from 1st page:

I carefully add a few shovels of coal across the whole fire , making sure flames are still coming up between the coal. (No need to wait for the wood fire to turn to embers...just make sure you don't smother the fire by adding to much coal at a time & make sure you don't overfire your stove by giving it to much air)I play with the ash door to make sure the fire keeps going well & wait a few minutes for each coal layer to ignite b4 I add more coal. When the entire fire is covered with coal (still making sure flames are coming up) I carefully add another layer of coal & watch the stove thermometer. Temp will drop a bit when you add a new layer but as soon as the temp starts to rise again, I add more coal. In very short order you will fill your stove with coal. (to the top of the firebricks) Once filled & at a temp you want....you're done! (I have found that a new fire wants more air than one that has been burning a while so plan on leaving the air inlet open a little more than usual) You'll get the feel for it in no time
War is a game that is played with a smile. If you can't smile, grin. If you can't grin, keep out of the way till you can.
Winston Churchill
Shaking & Poking The TLC2000 Video

Jack Magnum
Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon. May. 05, 2008 10:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: Cossayuna lake in N.Y.

Post Thu. Dec. 04, 2008 5:07 pm

I've got about 15lbs of coal in it with the ash door open but the fire won't really flame unless I pour more match light on the coals. Ash door is open should I have the fan blower on while I am in the process of getting and maintaining a fire ? HELP PLEASE---Wanna have this thing going before the wife gets home. I've been at it for 2 hours now

Jack Magnum
Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Mon. May. 05, 2008 10:34 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: TLC-2000
Location: Cossayuna lake in N.Y.

Post Thu. Dec. 04, 2008 5:11 pm

Devil, I didn't see your post before my post. I have wood draft levers closed. I have ash door open .Should I have blower on ? Also My stove pipe located a ft above stove collar stays around 200 degrees.Boy ,That matchlight has the house stinking. the wife will love that with her sinus problem :D

Visit Hitzer Stoves

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”