Harman Mark II

jrplumber87

Post by jrplumber87 » Fri. Aug. 09, 2013 6:57 pm

Hello all! Awhile back I posted a question about the Reading Swatara. I never received a response and long story short I never bought the stove. However, after last winter (cold here in NY) I need to get off my butt and settle on a stove. I have one question about the Harman Mark II. If anyone out there has one, what is the average unattended burn time you are getting out of it. By unattended I mean no shaking, filling, or poking. They advertise 24 hour unattended burn but the real world is different. This stove would be the perfect size for my 1300sq ft house. The only reason I ask this is I am a heating technician and sometimes I get home a few hours late in the winter and I don't want to come home to a cold stove and the sound of my propane furnace running if I can help it. Thanks for your time! I would appreciate any insight anyone has.

Anthracite Ed
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Alaska Channing III
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark II
Coal Size/Type: UAE Classic Deep Mined
Other Heating: Electric Heat Pump

Post by Anthracite Ed » Fri. Aug. 09, 2013 7:09 pm

Greetings , I have been burning a mark II for about 12 years in central penna, in the dead of winter I get about 8-10 hours unattended,

jrplumber87

Post by jrplumber87 » Fri. Aug. 09, 2013 8:18 pm

Thank you! Not as long as I expected for burn time but your info is valuable! Thank you for your time. I'm sure experimenting with pea and nut mix and adjusting air intake could extend these burn times. If anyone has more input please chime in. Thanks!

jpete
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mk II
Coal Size/Type: Stove, Nut, Pea
Other Heating: Dino juice

Post by jpete » Fri. Aug. 09, 2013 8:24 pm

I had a Mk I and now have a Mk II.

I typically tend mine twice a day. If I'm running it hard, maybe 3.

Normal routine is tend it in the morning before work. ~6:30am

Hit it again anytime after work between 4pm and 7pm.