Clayton 1600 M

Xwoodburner

Post by Xwoodburner » Mon. Jul. 08, 2013 6:59 pm

Hello all
I have a clayton 1600 m , and I have read all the posts on Successfully burning anthracite coal in a clayton.
Eventually I got it to burn it's really picky......... I am a HVAC tech and I understand how to make it work.......it's just I don't have the time or effort anymore
Sometimes it will burn for a week straight other times it turns out over night

Has anybody switched to something better with success?
I hear good things about the Harman 1500a. Any input?

franco b
Site Moderator
Hand Fed Coal Stove: V ermont Castings 2310, Franco Belge 262
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood Modern Oak 114
Coal Size/Type: nut and pea

Post by franco b » Mon. Jul. 08, 2013 7:21 pm

Harman stoves are well built but this is just another batch loading stove that has a better grate and fire box design than what you already have. For the money involved I think you should look at a stoker.

Xwoodburner

Post by Xwoodburner » Mon. Jul. 08, 2013 7:53 pm

I'm looking for something to hook up to my ductwork
Or I would def buy a stoker
Thanks

What makes the Harman design so much better?

franco b
Site Moderator

Post by franco b » Mon. Jul. 08, 2013 8:07 pm

Xwoodburner wrote:I'm looking for something to hook up to my ductwork
Or I would def buy a stoker
Thanks

What makes the Harman design so much better?
You can buy a stoker furnace for your ducts. Just look under furnaces and not stoves. I am sure the Harman has sturdier shaker parts than the Clayton and better dimensions of the fire box.

Xwoodburner

Post by Xwoodburner » Mon. Jul. 08, 2013 8:14 pm

Ok
I'll peak at them....thanks a lot !

Lightning
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: Modified AA 130
Coal Size/Type: Pea Size - Anthracite

Post by Lightning » Tue. Jul. 09, 2013 11:13 am

Xwoodburner wrote:Sometimes it will burn for a week straight other times it turns out over night