Barometric Damper Installation

Post Reply
chet
Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu. Nov. 23, 2006 9:15 am
Location: Wikes Barre PA

Post Mon. Dec. 31, 2007 9:57 pm

Well I installed a barometric damper in my MK III in my basement about a month ago, never read the instructions till today, it shows a few ways not to install it, well Mine is installed in a place of a 90 deg, the pipe comes up from the back of the stove and I installed the Tee with the damper looking straight at me as the pipe going out is going right into the wall, should I take it apart and relocate the damper.

damper
_________________
_ ________________
| |
| |
| |
stove
Chet

User avatar
coaledsweat
Site Moderator
Posts: 9907
Joined: Fri. Oct. 27, 2006 2:05 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260M
Coal Size/Type: Pea
Location: Guilford, Connecticut

Post Tue. Jan. 01, 2008 12:11 am

Its OK, a lot are mounted that way. It isnt perfect but will work pretty well and it makes it quite easy to clean the horizontal. You should check the draft with a meter, it could save you some coal.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
CoalHeat
Site Moderator
Posts: 8331
Joined: Sat. Feb. 10, 2007 9:48 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: 1959 EFM 350
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Magnafire Mark I
Baseburners & Antiques: Sears Signal Oak 15 & Andes Kitchen Range
Coal Size/Type: Rice and Chestnut
Other Heating: Fisher Fireplace Insert
Location: Stillwater, New Jersey

Post Tue. Jan. 01, 2008 12:25 am

The instructions for the damper I use, Field Controls RC, indicate that where you have it is acceptable. That's where I have mine, works fine and maintains the draft at the set point of -.05" WC. The only odd fact is that the weight location does not correspond to the actual measured draft, but I rely on the manometer reading, not the weight location.

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”