1st Coal Fire Tonight

Bobbi
Hand Fed Coal Stove: hitzer 983 insert
Coal Size/Type: blashak nut

Post by Bobbi » Wed. Jan. 30, 2013 9:50 pm

Have a Hitzer 983 insert that I have been burning wood in for 2 yrs. Tonight I have ventured into the realm of unfamiliar Blashak nut anthracite. A few questions.... I used #60 for a starter bed, it is not anywhere near the top of the firebrick , but it is to the top of the door opening. Is this enough?? and....after I shake ashes down, do I poke the coal bed and stir it up or do I just shovel coal on ?? Should there be blue flame all the time? or only after I put new coal on ?? Thank You

freetown fred
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut

Post by freetown fred » Wed. Jan. 30, 2013 9:56 pm

You're good at the door opening level--shake--maybe a couple times a week you should poke--I only get blue flames right after topping off & I'm good--how often ya shaking--12 hrs???

Bobbi

Post by Bobbi » Wed. Jan. 30, 2013 10:11 pm

HaHa Haven't shook yet !!!! Just startin filling it at 2pm !!! Is blue flame now too much ashpan air ? I opened it a little cause it was only runnin at 175 degrees, what should it be at ?? What are the hi/lo limits??

nortcan

Post by nortcan » Wed. Jan. 30, 2013 10:13 pm

Hi Hitzer guys. Not exactly on the subject but just wanted to say it.
Last week, while in a custommer's house, I asked to the guy what was his heating fuel. He said anthracite, I made as if that was a new word for me and let him tell about that for a while then told him that I was burning anth. for a few years. He love anth and I asked if I could see his stove , it was a 50 93 and he was on the second burning year. Never saw a guy so happy, well in Qc :)

LDPosse

Post by LDPosse » Wed. Jan. 30, 2013 10:20 pm

Bobbi wrote:Have a Hitzer 983 insert that I have been burning wood in for 2 yrs. Tonight I have ventured into the realm of unfamiliar Blashak nut anthracite.