Stove Temps

Storm
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun. Nov. 25, 2012 4:11 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark 1& 111
Coal Size/Type: Nut & stove
Stove/Furnace Make: Vermont Cast. Vig. '79 w/coal
Location: Juneau county, Wisconsin

Post Wed. Jan. 23, 2013 2:14 pm

Now that the weather is very cold, I was wondering what temps are you using on your stove to keep a comfortable temperature. Ok the manufacture says on my Harman 1 no higher than 500 degrees. This is measured at just above the loading door. I've measured with a info read laser tool. It seems to be the hottes area without firebrick. I am keeping that 500 degrees. The stove is located in this 30X35x9foot ceiling family room. Other rooms with small access to this room. I've read in this forum that other Harman users are much higher. This is my first season with this stove. The area that is being heated is 66 degrees, not very comfortable. It's -13 below with -25 wind chill. So far temps above 15 degrees with little wind burning at the same temp provide comfortable temps 72 degrees. I guess in the future, just insulate more and better windows. Any other thoughts would be helpfull. Thanx George

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
nortcan
Member
Posts: 3085
Joined: Sat. Feb. 20, 2010 3:32 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Stuart,Peterson/ Grander
Stove/Furnace Model: Sunnyside/ Golden Bride
Location: Qc Canada

Post Wed. Jan. 23, 2013 2:24 pm

Hi George and welcome to the forum. 500*F is probably an average T* for your stove and it could certainly go to 650/700*F for periods without any damage.

User avatar
Keepaeyeonit
Member
Posts: 1050
Joined: Wed. Mar. 24, 2010 7:18 pm
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood #8
Coal Size/Type: Direnzo stove, Blaschak stove
Other Heating: 46 year old oil furnace,and a crappy 25 year old heat pump
Location: Northeast Ohio.

Post Wed. Jan. 23, 2013 2:29 pm

George,I think Harman says not to exceed 500* at the stove outlet collar and the flue pipe but I may be wrong.I had my stove running 550* yesterday(that's as high as I've ever ran it)and my pipe temp was 400* but that's right out of the stove(my temp probe is 2" above the outlet on the pipe).so I'm sure your ok but the lower the stove temp the easier it is on the stove.Keepaeyeonit

User avatar
I'm On Fire
Member
Posts: 3920
Joined: Thu. Jun. 10, 2010 9:34 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machines DS-1600 Hot Air Circulator
Location: Vernon, New Jersey

Post Wed. Jan. 23, 2013 3:02 pm

I know I have a DS but the manual says for my stove not to exceed 600*. I've had my stove 650*+ for a few days the first season I got it. Like it was stated, that 500* may just be at the outlet/collar. I would think 500* at the stove outlet flue collar you're close to going nuclear and have some huge problems with the stove. Even at 700* on my DS at the outlet it doesn't get hotter than 400* and the further back on the pipe it's even colder.

User avatar
dtzackus
Member
Posts: 284
Joined: Tue. Jul. 08, 2008 6:36 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Gibraltar LCC
Stove/Furnace Make: Gibraltar
Stove/Furnace Model: LCC
Location: Schuylkill County, PA

Post Wed. Jan. 23, 2013 3:05 pm

With regular winter temperatures, I have my stove at 300F, now with the single digits, I am running around 400/450F.

Of course when I shake the stove, I will let the temp. go about 600 before I shake and add more coal.

franco b
Site Moderator
Posts: 8564
Joined: Wed. Nov. 05, 2008 5:11 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: V ermont Castings 2310, Franco Belge 262
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood Modern Oak 114
Coal Size/Type: nut and pea
Location: Kent CT

Post Wed. Jan. 23, 2013 3:29 pm

Here is a chart originally submitted by Doug. It shows the output in BTU for each square foot at various temperatures. As you can see the output more than doubles going from 400 to 600.

80* ------------------------------------------------------ 15 BTU's / Sq.Ft.
100* ------------------------------------------------------ 51 BTU's / Sq.Ft.
150* ------------------------------------------------------ 168 BTU's / Sq.Ft.
200* ------------------------------------------------------ 315 BTU's / Sq.Ft.
400* ------------------------------------------------------ 1230 BTU's / Sq.Ft.
600* ------------------------------------------------------ 2850 BTU's / Sq.Ft.
800* ------------------------------------------------------ 5430 BTU's / Sq.Ft.
1200* ----------------------------------------------------- 9370 BTU's / Sq.Ft.

Wanna Bee
Member
Posts: 319
Joined: Thu. Jan. 17, 2013 5:41 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Grander Stove Co.
Stove/Furnace Model: Royal Bride
Location: You wouldn't believe me if I told ya! Virginville PA

Post Wed. Jan. 23, 2013 3:35 pm

1100sq ft ranch on top of a hill with wind and single digits/teens. House is tight but not well insulated. Stove and large masonry Chimney are dead center, first floor.
I'm burning at 550/600* measured on the cooktop temp probe. Manufacure says not to go over 800* on this probe.
House is 75 and comfy, basement is 55*

Stove is my only heat source.

buck24
Member
Posts: 378
Joined: Sun. Feb. 28, 2010 5:47 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: New Buck Corp. / MODEL 24 COAL
Coal Size/Type: Pea, Nut / Anthracite
Location: NEPA/Pittston Twp. PA

Post Wed. Jan. 23, 2013 3:37 pm

The Buck Model 24 is holding steady at 480* to 500* in this cold blast that we are having. Normally during the winter she is burning at 380* to 400*. Can't complain, she does a good job for me.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
carlherrnstein
Member
Posts: 970
Joined: Tue. Feb. 07, 2012 8:49 am
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: combustioneer model 77B
Coal Size/Type: pea stoker/Ohio bituminous
Location: Clarksburg, ohio

Post Wed. Jan. 23, 2013 3:55 pm

Iv been running about 500-730F on the griddle top keeping the house 60-70F 1000 square foot ranch with leaky single pane windows.

josephk
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu. Dec. 13, 2012 10:38 am
Stove/Furnace Make: Harmon
Stove/Furnace Model: MK1
Location: So.NH, Monadnocks

Post Wed. Jan. 23, 2013 5:00 pm

From the Harman manual:

" When and if the chimney pipe or connector
reaches 500˚ f. (maximum temperature), the stove is
being over-fired. It is recommended that you use mag-
netic thermometers on the stove and flue connector,
to ensure safe operation."

Dann757
Member
Posts: 3364
Joined: Sat. Sep. 06, 2008 9:10 am

Post Wed. Jan. 23, 2013 5:22 pm

My stove is a heatilator-type. It's basically a barrel inside a box. I have an air circulator fan rigged up to it running at full blast now. It's an air purifier hooked up to a 4" corrugated aluminum dryer vent hose. The stove is way oversized for my small cottage. I double lined the firebox this year taking the firebox from 9" x 14", to 9" x 10". Wished I hadn't these past few days! I have to poke the ashes from under the grate, through the ash door.
I'm keeping the fire piled up over the top of the firebricks.
This cold snap has given me some good practice/ motivation tending it. I have a magnetic thermometer on the stack, just above the outlet. Another one past the baro a couple feet. I'm keeping the draft on the Dwyer around .035. I think the ideal is probably .02, more than that and the coal gets consumed faster. When the stack temp drops to 100, I know the fire is getting ashbound. I've been here to poke the ashes and get the fire breathing again; it takes a little while, like 1/2 hr. The stack is at 200* now and the fan is pushing some good hot air out of the air jacket.
What a balancing act! I also have to consider my relatively short chimney, it likes to be warm to have a good draft. It's dead center too, but more than 6' sticks above the flat roof. Somebody said you can get results by insulating the chimney. Wouldn't take much to put foam panels around it and stucco them up. Not now though! 14.4* out here. Really happy with the humidifier I got this season, it's putting about 4 gallons a day into the place! No more shocks, dry eyes, itchy back :D

User avatar
Chuck_Steak
Member
Posts: 386
Joined: Wed. Jan. 06, 2010 9:03 pm
Coal Size/Type: mostly nut, sometimes stove, Santa brand
Stove/Furnace Make: Harman
Stove/Furnace Model: Mark III
Location: New Hampster

Post Wed. Jan. 23, 2013 8:46 pm

Storm wrote:.. I was wondering what temps are you using on your stove to keep a comfortable temperature.
Ok the manufacture says on my Harman 1 no higher than 500 degrees.
Honestly?
500° isn't even breaking a sweat on your Harman.
We got rid of a Mark II a few years back, to replace it with a Mark III
for a pretty large repair shop.
It was over 20 years old, and in cold weather it was rarely below 600°-650°.
And the stove is still going today with it's new owner.
The Mark III was running around 700° today, when the outside temp was
around zero nearly all day.
The one in my house has been running around 600° the last couple of days.
It's nice and happy! Stove pipe is around 230°
If your stove pipe gets around 500, the side of your stove will be around 900.
THAT is overfiring!
Keep in mind that the manufacturers do not want to take any chances,
and are going to always be safe in their recommendations.
Nothing wrong with that, but when you use something long enough,
and keep your eye on it, you will develope your own "safety zone".
Believe me.... 500° is NOTHING on the side of your Harman!

Dan

User avatar
LDPosse
Member
Posts: 532
Joined: Mon. Dec. 19, 2011 11:11 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: DS Machine
Stove/Furnace Model: DS1500, Kozy King 100
Location: Tower City, PA
Contact:

Post Wed. Jan. 23, 2013 8:55 pm

I have my DS revved up pretty good. I had called DS and they said they measure their stoves on the top, near the back where the stove collar is. I'm well within spec there, but some other spots on the stove are hotter. I took these measurements around mid-day today. My house temp has climbed since I took these pics, I'm at 72F now.
Attachments
IMG_0886.JPG
Front of the DS1500
IMG_0888.JPG
Top loading door on the DS1500
IMG_0889.JPG
Right behind the loading door - typically the hottest spot on the stove.
IMG_0887.JPG
Top of stove near the pipe collar - this is where DS says they measure using a bi-metal magnetic thermometer
IMG_0890.JPG
Surface vent of my Duravent DVL double wall stove pipe
IMG_0891.JPG
Section of terra cotta pipe between the new hearth and the existing crock
IMG_0892.JPG
Temp a little above the crock
IMG_0894.jpg
chimney temp on the 2nd floor
IMG_0895.jpg
Chimney temp in the attic
IMG_0893.JPG
DS1500 bi-metal t-stat set at approx 3.5

User avatar
SMITTY
Member
Posts: 11912
Joined: Sun. Dec. 11, 2005 12:43 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Patriot Coal - (custom built by Jim Dorsey, Taunton MA - RIP 4/18/13)
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark III (SOLD!)
Coal Size/Type: Rice / Blaschak anthracite
Other Heating: Oil fired Burnham boiler
Location: West-Central Mass

Post Wed. Jan. 23, 2013 9:15 pm

I just finished doing the same thing, then I see this thread here! :lol: Was gonna post in Coffee.

I'm officially sick of being cold, so I got this thing 3 turns out. Temp is still climbing. Reloaded at 15:00, so it should peak in a few hours. It's HOT ... but the house is bleeding heat like you read about. 3° out an falling like a rock by the minute. We'll be below zero tonight for sure. Barely 21:00 ... by 05:00 there's no question.

You know there's mega-radiant heat when the oil boiler sides are over 300° just 8" or so away! :lol:
Attachments
Stove temp, January '13.JPG
Stove temp, January '13 (2).JPG
Stove temp, January '13 (3).JPG
Stove temp, January '13 (4).JPG
Stove temp, January '13 (5).JPG
Boiler still not going much over 180°, even with the TV room t-stat turned down from 70° to 65°.
Temp graph, Weatherstation.JPG

Storm
Member
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun. Nov. 25, 2012 4:11 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Harman Mark 1& 111
Coal Size/Type: Nut & stove
Stove/Furnace Make: Vermont Cast. Vig. '79 w/coal
Location: Juneau county, Wisconsin

Post Thu. Jan. 24, 2013 9:47 am

Storm back, thanks for responding. It's been a learning expirance. Different stoves and different temps, different locations to measure. Ok, it's -10 below in my neck of the woods light wind. Stove temp is still 475-510 degrees measure at top of loading door. Moved info rad reader to outlet pipe collar on Harman stove 310 degrees. After the baro which is 3 feet temp is 145 degrees. Draft .04. Ok will go up in temp to 425degrees on stove collar. Still like to be conservative here. Yes after 1.5 hours room became warmer. Was 66 now 71 degrees. Husky dog went to lie down by the outside door. Still like to have latitude. Thanx George :roll:

Visit Hitzer Stoves

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”