Coal Fire Went Out, Suggestions Are Welcome

Modern and vintage hand fired coal stove are similar to a wood stove and in some cases can burn either. They need to be regulated and fed by hand usually every 12 to 24 hours depending on your usage. They require no power to operate making them ideal for rural settings with long power outages.
User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 8283
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post Sun. Jan. 27, 2013 10:19 am

Dudleymass wrote:here is it after the mound
That firebox is only half full partner :lol: ....
It should have twice that much coal in it.. 8-)

Fill it till the coal is level with the top of the firebrick THEN mound it 3 inches higher in the middle.
Could take another 50 pounds or more..

User avatar
63roundbadge
Member
Posts: 187
Joined: Fri. May. 23, 2008 9:43 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Alaska
Stove/Furnace Model: Kodiak
Location: Lehigh Valley PA

Post Sun. Jan. 27, 2013 2:15 pm

I've been burning pea forever, I'm experimenting with nut lately at a suggestion to produce more BTU's on these single digit nights.

What a learning experience this has been. I almost lost my fire 3 times so far. Nut volume is much less than pea due to larger and irregular size, a hopper full does not last as long for me.

MY 2 cents is that wherever there's ash, there's non-productive coal, and often for me the underfire air is going to take the path of least resistance through the ash and/or voids in the black coal instead of traveling through the red productive coal. Nut provides more voids for the air to take which does not fire the red coal. I also find that I can't let the ash be in the upper coal bed, only on the grate.

I hope this makes sense?
"There's a fine line between good conversation and irreparable damage"

User avatar
McGiever
Member
Posts: 5997
Joined: Sun. May. 02, 2010 11:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: AXEMAN-ANDERSON 130 "1959"
Coal Size/Type: PEA / ANTHRACITE
Other Heating: Ground Source Heat Pump
Stove/Furnace Make: Hydro Heat /Mega Tek
Location: Junction of PA-OH-WV

Post Sun. Jan. 27, 2013 2:31 pm

Dudleymass wrote:Have Asheley 1602R,... Not sure if I filled it up too much? I left the bottom drawer spinn vent open and 10% on the top. Should I shake the grate harder?
Any help is appriciated.
As was mentioned, you need twice or more coal loaded in there. More coal loaded doesn't mean your using more coal...you must be thinking about burning wood. :idea:

Anthracite needs little if any upper air. Close the top spinner for anthracite...that spinner is for wood and soft coal. :idea:
SLOW AND STEADY WINS THE RACE

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 8283
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post Sun. Jan. 27, 2013 2:34 pm

63roundbadge wrote:MY 2 cents is that wherever there's ash, there's non-productive coal, and often for me the underfire air is going to take the path of least resistance through the ash and/or voids in the black coal instead of traveling through the red productive coal. Nut provides more voids for the air to take which does not fire the red coal. I also find that I can't let the ash be in the upper coal bed, only on the grate.
Doesn't the whole bed of nut size eventually get burning so air has no voids to get thru the fresh coal?

User avatar
Lightning
Member
Posts: 8283
Joined: Wed. Nov. 16, 2011 9:51 am
Hand Fed Coal Furnace: Overmodified/Bored out Clayton 1537
Coal Size/Type: Anthracite/Awesome Size
Location: Olean, NY

Post Sun. Jan. 27, 2013 6:21 pm

Heres a better representation of what we mean by fill it up :D
This is after a fill up and mounding 8-)
The bright spot in the first pic was a flashlight, I was trying to light it up better..
Attachments
IMG_20130127_180430.jpg
IMG_20130127_180516.jpg

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”