Seeking Info

Trry

Post by Trry » Sun. Aug. 26, 2012 12:12 am

Hello everyone, new member here, but I've been lurking for a while. I purchased a nice Godin French Petit stove today, and it seems to be in great shape. I am going to clean it up and proof it before I get it into the house, but I was hoping to get some tips, info, or advice from anyone that would like to share. I've been burning wood all my life, and for 15 years I burned coal in a Harman insert. I had great success with that, but my current home demanded a much smaller stove, so I found my new Godin. I will be replacing a Jotul clone wood burner and am looking forward to a pleasant experience with my new coal burner.
Two specific questions I do have concern the flue exhaust configuration and the depth of coal in the firebox.
I have noticed some stoves like mine have a sort of double exhaust piece on the backside, mine has just a single flue at the top of the firebox. Is this peculiar to what nation a stove was sold in, or just an upgrade or slight model difference?
Secondly, how full to fill the firebox? Should it be filled to just below the flue, or to a lesser extent? I know that some empty space is needed above the fire for good complete combustion, but I wonder just how much?
FYI, I live in central NY state, and we do get some nasty cold winters here, so I will be hoping to burn as efficiently as I know how.
Any advice will be taken to heart, and very much appreciated.
Thank you all.

franco b
Site Moderator
Hand Fed Coal Stove: V ermont Castings 2310, Franco Belge 262
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood Modern Oak 114
Coal Size/Type: nut and pea

Post by franco b » Sun. Aug. 26, 2012 9:28 am

Yours seems to be the large round model with the flue at the top. Fill to just below the flue outlet.