Here Come the KINKERS!!!

LudlowLou

Post by LudlowLou » Mon. Jan. 16, 2012 12:21 pm

This is my first year burning anthricite. Overall I am quite pleased and am commited to using this fuel. The more I use this website, especially reading and learning from others experience, the more confident I become in my ability.

I have a dual fuel hot air furnace (Norseman 2500-Vogelzang)(very similar to HotBlast, etc.). It has a long narrow fire box: 26"l, 11"w, 12" deep, which I converted from the original dimensions which was V shaped......more condusive to cordwood. I have added an additional spin draft knob on the ash door, and also added a manual flue damper. Since the onset of heating weather I have learned how to start and maintain my fire. I understand issues such as draft, loading, poking, and shaking........although I suspect there might be some activity knowledge which is lacking.

OK, here it is: I can start, adjust fire & heat production, and keep it going for about 3 days, not much more. Why? The kinkers are killing me! And I am not referering to my neighbors who resemble the Flockers!

Seems that towards the end of the fires life, when it seems OK (top coals glowing and still throwing good heat) it is dying slowly. Now the fire box is about 85%-90% full, everything looks OK.....so I poke it ( which increases heat, at least momentarily) leave it for 10 mins, then add a thin layer of coal, wait another 10 or 15 minutes then shake. I shake until hot embers fall into ash pan. For a newbie like me this all seems to look fine, but the fire dies nevertheless. Until now, I would just clean it out and start over, knowing full well that something is lacking......but I need to heat my house so I do what must be done.