WV Bit Vs. PA Blaschak Anthracite in a WM Stove

User avatar
Smokeyja
Member
Posts: 1984
Joined: Mon. Nov. 21, 2011 6:57 pm
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood #6 baseheater, Richmond Advance Range, WarmMorning 414a x2
Coal Size/Type: Nut / Anthracite
Other Heating: none
Location: Richmond, VA.
Contact:

Post Tue. Jan. 24, 2012 9:48 pm

Keepaeyeonit wrote:Hi Smokeyja.I like Blaschak I think it's very good but I just finished a ton of UAE and what a difference I had to cut the air back to maintain the stove temp with the Harmony it was so free burning and easy to load I would reload the stove with 35# to 45# (15 min time frame)and the temp would not drop more then 50* or 60* it just took right off and the ash(red) was around 10% I was playing the try some new coal game but it's UAE or Balschak from now on. not sure if it's Available down there or not but if you can get some try it.Keepaeyeonit
UAE?

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
Keepaeyeonit
Member
Posts: 1050
Joined: Wed. Mar. 24, 2010 7:18 pm
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood #8
Coal Size/Type: Direnzo stove, Blaschak stove
Other Heating: 46 year old oil furnace,and a crappy 25 year old heat pump
Location: Northeast Ohio.

Post Tue. Jan. 24, 2012 9:55 pm

Sorry,you hear people talk about Harmony coal it's UAE coal Corp I think Harmony is the mine(if I"m wrong someone please tell me :oops: )that it's mined form.Keepaeyeonit

User avatar
Smokeyja
Member
Posts: 1984
Joined: Mon. Nov. 21, 2011 6:57 pm
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood #6 baseheater, Richmond Advance Range, WarmMorning 414a x2
Coal Size/Type: Nut / Anthracite
Other Heating: none
Location: Richmond, VA.
Contact:

Post Tue. Jan. 24, 2012 10:16 pm

Keepaeyeonit wrote:Sorry,you hear people talk about Harmony coal it's UAE coal Corp I think Harmony is the mine(if I"m wrong someone please tell me :oops: )that it's mined form.Keepaeyeonit
Hmmm I am guessing it's bituminous? Well if I can get Blaschak in NOVA maybe I can get UAE. What is the price difference? I paying 6.23/pallet/2400lbs for Blaschak.

User avatar
SteveZee
Member
Posts: 2512
Joined: Wed. May. 11, 2011 10:45 am
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Glenwood Modern Oak 116 & Glenwood 208 C Range
Location: Downeast , Maine

Post Wed. Jan. 25, 2012 8:11 am

Josh, That UAE Harmony is top of the line anthracite. Allot of the guys who live in NEPA have their pick of the best coal produced there and many swear by that stuff.

User avatar
LsFarm
Member
Posts: 7384
Joined: Sun. Nov. 20, 2005 8:02 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland
Location: Michigan

Post Wed. Jan. 25, 2012 2:00 pm

UAE Harmony coal is available only in bulk, no bagged unless it's by a retailer, and right now they are not selling retalil except in small loads. No TT loads to the public till the spring or summer
Their coal is the lowest ash coal around. roughly 7% lately.

They are a commercial shipper of coal, to other breakers, they often don't have any coal available for retail, only ship to their contract buyers.
UAE coal is used by other breakers to bring UP their product's quality and bring down the ash content.

They are easier to buy coal from in the spring/summer.

Greg L.

User avatar
Bootstrap
Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun. Jan. 08, 2012 10:24 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Hitzer
Stove/Furnace Model: 30-95
Location: Windsor locks, CT

Post Wed. Jan. 25, 2012 9:26 pm

I'm gonna chime in because I run a Warm morning 523.....

In regards to a previous post talking about ash and having to poke the fire and what not....
I started burning anthracite in the 2010-2011 winter. I didn't burn much because of lots of "free" wood. I got sick of the "free" wood and have gone full bore with anthracite. I started this season with nut coal. Lately I switched to pea coal hopeing for longer burn times.....
Anyways, I never have to poke the fire and I run "her" 24/7 with 2 shakes per day. Unless I'm a dumbass and get lazy and/or forget to tend the fire about every 12 hours, it never goes out.
Figured I might chime in and say that I can run this warm morning 24/7 no problem.
BTW, I am running mine with a BARO damper and MPD.
Last edited by Bootstrap on Thu. Jan. 26, 2012 10:23 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Smokeyja
Member
Posts: 1984
Joined: Mon. Nov. 21, 2011 6:57 pm
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood #6 baseheater, Richmond Advance Range, WarmMorning 414a x2
Coal Size/Type: Nut / Anthracite
Other Heating: none
Location: Richmond, VA.
Contact:

Post Wed. Jan. 25, 2012 9:40 pm

Bootstrap wrote:I'm gonna chime in because I run a Warm morning 520.....

In regards to a previous post talking about ash and having to poke the fire and what not....
I started burning anthracite in the 2010-2011 winter. I didn't burn much because of lots of "free" wood. I got sick of the "free" wood and have gone full bore with anthracite. I started this season with nut coal. Lately I switched to pea coal hopeing for longer burn times.....
Anyways, I never have to poke the fire and I run "her" 24/7 with 2 shakes per day. Unless I'm a dumbass and get lazy and/or forget to tend the fire about every 12 hours, it never goes out.
Figured I might chime in and say that I can run this warm morning 24/7 no problem.
BTW, I am running mine with a BARO damper and MPD.
Bootstrap, how finely does your WM burn the ash. Mine leaves white shale like ash and some fine.

There are a few differences between our two stoves. I believe your 520 holds 100lbs of coal correct? Your model is round on the outside and I am guessing the inside as well? Maybe some photos of yours would be good. The 414a being a smaller 40lbs coal capacity needs to be burned hotter to produce te same heat of a larger stove causing fusing of the ash "clinkers" and causing airway and firebox restrictions. Maybe if I run pea I would be better but I never thought of it. When I can really spare some more cash I will start buying and trying more coals. I only use a MPD, I have no use for a Baro as my draft control is very steady and I have no room for one.

User avatar
Bootstrap
Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun. Jan. 08, 2012 10:24 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Hitzer
Stove/Furnace Model: 30-95
Location: Windsor locks, CT

Post Thu. Jan. 26, 2012 10:27 am

Well, my ash is alot like you described yours.
I just started burning pea coal. So far I hate it. When I burned nut coal I was easily getting 12 hour burn times but now the damn thing keeps going out.
I have recently come across the warm morning install manual. It states that a baro is recommended for all warm morning models. It also says that the baro goes between the flue and the MPD. I have my setup backwards( Stove, baro, MPD - should be Stove MPD Baro).

I(incorrectly) installed the baro at the same time I started pea so maybe its the reason why my burn times are less than stellar.
I plan on fixing this today.
Attachments
WarmMorningManual.pdf
(401.33 KiB) Downloaded 11 times

Visit Hitzer Stoves

User avatar
Rob R.
Site Moderator
Posts: 11509
Joined: Fri. Dec. 28, 2007 4:26 pm
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM DF520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Hitzer 50-93
Coal Size/Type: Lehigh Rice
Other Heating: Dad's 1953 EFM Highboy
Location: Chazy, NY

Post Thu. Jan. 26, 2012 10:51 am

Bootstrap wrote:I have my setup backwards( Stove, baro, MPD - should be Stove MPD Baro).
Bootstrap wrote:I plan on fixing this today.
Image

I'm glad you noticed that and are getting it remedied. The current setup is a recipe for CO leakage.

User avatar
Bootstrap
Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun. Jan. 08, 2012 10:24 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Hitzer
Stove/Furnace Model: 30-95
Location: Windsor locks, CT

Post Thu. Jan. 26, 2012 8:36 pm

I have fixed it and am now running the stove properly. stove, mpd, baro.we'll see how good she burns now...

User avatar
Smokeyja
Member
Posts: 1984
Joined: Mon. Nov. 21, 2011 6:57 pm
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood #6 baseheater, Richmond Advance Range, WarmMorning 414a x2
Coal Size/Type: Nut / Anthracite
Other Heating: none
Location: Richmond, VA.
Contact:

Post Thu. Jan. 26, 2012 8:45 pm

Bootstrap wrote:I have fixed it and am now running the stove properly. stove, mpd, baro.we'll see how good she burns now...
Let us know if it helps your burn any.

User avatar
Bootstrap
Member
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun. Jan. 08, 2012 10:24 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Hitzer
Stove/Furnace Model: 30-95
Location: Windsor locks, CT

Post Fri. Jan. 27, 2012 8:43 am

I think it helped the burn. Still burning too fast but I'll get things tuned in.

User avatar
Stephen in Soky
Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue. Feb. 10, 2009 5:47 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Warm Morning
Stove/Furnace Model: 500
Location: Bowling Green KY

Post Fri. Jan. 27, 2012 10:12 am

FWIW, my 500 absolutely ran away with me until I got the BD dialed in. Even with the BD, I still use the MPD about halfway closed to hold the heat in the stove after my reload is fully engaged. In my case it was a challenge finding the sweet spot (BD) where I still had sufficient draft to ignite a 40 lb reload without burning it up in a matter of hours.

franco b
Site Moderator
Posts: 8570
Joined: Wed. Nov. 05, 2008 5:11 pm
Hand Fed Coal Stove: V ermont Castings 2310, Franco Belge 262
Baseburners & Antiques: Glenwood Modern Oak 114
Coal Size/Type: nut and pea
Location: Kent CT

Post Fri. Jan. 27, 2012 10:30 am

Stephen in Soky wrote:FWIW, my 500 absolutely ran away with me until I got the BD dialed in. Even with the BD, I still use the MPD about halfway closed to hold the heat in the stove after my reload is fully engaged. In my case it was a challenge finding the sweet spot (BD) where I still had sufficient draft to ignite a 40 lb reload without burning it up in a matter of hours.
I think your bottom door is not fitting tightly enough.

User avatar
Stephen in Soky
Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue. Feb. 10, 2009 5:47 pm
Stove/Furnace Make: Warm Morning
Stove/Furnace Model: 500
Location: Bowling Green KY

Post Fri. Jan. 27, 2012 10:39 am

That certainly could be the case. I've dropped a trouble light down and can't see any areas where it leaks. I cemented the entire area where the cast meets the firepot. I don't know what else to try? Now that I have my draft under control I don't have any real issues with overfiring and the stove is performing well enough to suit me. I'm blessed with a heavy draft on a 26' interior/chase enclosed 6" class A and it just pulled the heat right out of my stove until the BD was installed. My 500 is a circulator so checking for leaks is a great deal more challenging than a stove where the doors are open to the room.

Visit Hitzer Stoves

Post Reply

Return to “Hand Fired Coal Stoves & Furnaces Using Anthracite”