Baker's Choice

themongolian

Post by themongolian » Sun. Oct. 23, 2011 11:36 am

I am new at burning coal and using a Baker's Choice stove. From what I can find out about burning coal, I understand it is best to draft from below. On the Baker's Choice there are only two upper dampers and a plate inside the ash clean out that says you should not operate with the door open. How do you or would you burn coal in the multi-fuel stove? I did burn it for the first time tonight and it burned well with the ash clean out door open. Would this be okay or would it be better to make a damper that I could adjust better than the door?

SteveZee
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Glenwood Modern Oak 116 & Glenwood 208 C Range

Post by SteveZee » Sun. Oct. 23, 2011 11:40 am

I would have to see the pictures of the stove to better answer but yes you need air from below only. Also you need shaker grates. The reason you were able to burn it at all is that you had the ash door open. Most coal stoves and or cookstoves like my Glenwood have the primary air damper as part of the ash door. That's what controls the air from below. If you have to keep it (ash door) open to keep it going then it's not a coal burning stove without first making modifications. It sounds like you have the wood setup and maybe need a coal conversion kit?

themongolian

Post by themongolian » Sun. Oct. 23, 2011 12:26 pm

This is a link with a diagram of the stove. Although this site does not refer to it as a wood/coal stove other sites do. Also if you look at the pdf link on this site it does say that it is for burning coal.**Broken Link(s) Removed**. It does have a shaker grate but lacks the lower draft. Even wood burns better with the lower door open. I am seriously thinking of adding a lower draft by making a circular draft like a pie chart kind of style. What ever I do I need to make it myself since I am not in the US. Or how would you recommend adding a lower draft?