Hitzer Coal Insert Installation Questions

Poncherello

Post by Poncherello » Tue. Aug. 09, 2011 12:50 pm

Hello All, I have been using a Quadra-Fire 5100i wood inseert for the last 13 years or so and have grown tired of the mess associated with wood. I'm tired of stacking wood, I'm tired of getting crappy wood, I'm tired of the dust and dirt....I'm just tired of the whole thing. So I have decided to sell my 5100i and move to a Hitzer 503 coal insert. I like the HItzer over the keystoker because of the hopper and better looks.

When I installed my wood insert they tried to talk me into lining the entire chimney with 6 inch pipe at about $80 per foot, installed. I promptly passed and simply used a 4 foot section of flexible stainless steel to vent into the chimney just above the smoke shelf. When I spoke to the Hitzer factory they too recommended a liner but said it wasn't necessary as long as the chimney is in good shape, which it is. My chimney is about 30-35 feet high so the cost is to high in my opinion. I also plan to sell this house next year if all goes well so I don't want to invest twice as much as I have to.

My main question is: With the basic premise the same, would it be ok to continue using a 4-6 foot section of 6" pipe to vent into the chimney, I think my chimney has 12' flue tile. I have it cleaned and inspected each year and it's in perfect shape. Is anyone else using an unlined chimney for their coal insert? I have never had any draft issues, I will probably use matchlight charcoal to start the fire and heat the chimney to create a nice draft before adding coal. Any thoughts?

freetown fred
Hand Fed Coal Stove: HITZER 50-93
Coal Size/Type: BLASCHAK Nut

Post by freetown fred » Wed. Aug. 10, 2011 7:23 am