HF-70 Keystoker

mina678

Post by mina678 » Sun. Oct. 07, 2007 7:36 am

I have been reading some post over the last week and you guys are getting me worried about my stove.

The price was right it was a gift keystoker hf-70 in good condition and working on installing it soon.
I live in upstate new york so we have some cold around here I read some where that you can make the fire box smaller with brick or steel and reduce the amount of coal you are burning allowing burning when its not frezzing out.
Does anybody have any experience with this type of stove any help would be great.

I have burned wood for ever so I have some experience with the work involved.

thanks

Tim

LsFarm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland

Post by LsFarm » Sun. Oct. 07, 2007 8:11 am

Hi Tim, welcome to the forum. Your Keystoker stove is a fine stove. Why are you concerned about reducing the firebox size?? With most instalations you can control the heat output enough to use the stove as is.

Tell us about the house you are installing it in. How many square feet? Quality of the windows, and how much insulation? what type of heat does your house currently have? Are you planning on using the Keystoker stove to augment your current heat? Or will the stove be the sole source of heat?

What type of chimney do you have? A Stainless Steel or a Masonry Chimney?? What inside size and what height?

And... how long between loading and shaking will the stove need to burn?

As you can see from the list above there are a lot of factors about burning coal, and the expectations we can have for our burning experience.

Give us some more information and we'll be able to help.
If you are currently burning wood, you will like the even heat and longer burning time from coal.

Greg L

Check your PM's

mina678

Post by mina678 » Sun. Oct. 07, 2007 7:38 pm

Thanks in advance for your help