Chubby Question

DoubleD

Post by DoubleD » Wed. Feb. 16, 2011 4:21 pm

Hi, I am new to this form and have been looking at posts for the last few months. Just installed a Chubby stove last week and started it up on Sunday. I bought 120 pounds of bagged nut coal and I followed the directions that Larry Trainer posted on the internet. The stove worked great (1500 square foot ranch) and I could feel the heat from the stove emanating throughout the house. The stove went out overnight and I started it up Monday night, 25 degree night and the house temperature was at 76 degrees with no oil heat throughout the night. I managed to keep the stove lit throughout the night. Monday night, filled the stove before going to work Tuesday morning. My wife told me she was sweating Tuesday afternoon. Had a ton of nut coal delivered to my house from a different company on Tuesday. I got home from work on Tuesday, shook the grates and filled the stove with the few remaining nut coals from my first purchase and the rest of the fire pot was filled with the new coal from the 1 ton delivery. The new firepot never managed to get hot even though I could see some of the red coals on the bottom of the fire pot. After two hours of messing around with the stove, I started a wood fire on top of the newly packed coal and the coal seemed to catch in the fire pot. The heat output was not even close to the night before. It was a 19 degree night last night. The stove stayed lit throughout the night Tuesday night with barely any heat output (i made sure the pipe damper was closed and the air control on the bottom of the stove was open a quarter of the way). The house was 62 degrees when I awoke. I filled the fire pot with some coal Wednesday morning and went to work. When I got home wed. afternoon, I could see the coal was red in the fire pot however I still noticed that there was barely any heat output throughout the house. I am waiting for the fire to go completely out and I will clean the Chubby out