Wondercoal Vs Ashley CAC

Vaguy

Post by Vaguy » Mon. Aug. 27, 2007 7:58 pm

I'm planning on buying a new coal stove for this winter. The Wondercoal and Ashley CaC seem to fit my needs and are very affordable in my area. Any input on which is a better stove? Or suggestions on others to look for? I'm kinda new to the whole coal thing

LsFarm
Stoker Coal Boiler: Axeman Anderson 260
Hand Fed Coal Boiler: Self-built 'Big Bertha' SS Boiler
Baseburners & Antiques: Keystone 11, Art Garland

Post by LsFarm » Tue. Aug. 28, 2007 1:15 pm

Hello Vaguy, to better help you, can you post photos of the two stoves and maybe a link to a website with information on them.??

What coal do you have available to you? How many square feet are you heating? What are your heating plans, just for the coldest weather, or for heat all winter long? Some additional info helps us help you.

As for the two mentioned stoves, I don't know anything about them. Are they designed to burn anthracite or bituminous? And wood or just coal?

If they are for anthracite they have to have a shaker grate system, with an ash pan below the grates. All or most combustion air must come in below and up through the grates, above fire air will not keep an anthracite fire burning. Firebrick around the firebox is important and a deep firebox, allowing a 6-10" deep pile of coal is important too. The deeper the fire, the better it burns and longer it lasts.

Hope this helps some, lets see some photos, including photos of the firebox.

Check out Ebay for devoted coal stoves. and your local papers.

Greg L

Vaguy

Post by Vaguy » Tue. Aug. 28, 2007 4:48 pm