Need Help With Door Gaskets Harman Mark II

Bear038

Post by Bear038 » Wed. Dec. 29, 2010 12:21 pm

I have a Harman Mark II, and would like to take advantage of the higher temps the next few days to shut the stove down and replace the gaskets in both doors, only I have never done this before.

Two Questions:

First what size gasket roping do I need, and how much, and what cement is best?

Second, basically how do you do this job?

Any help is greatly appreciated. Y'll have tought me so much this year, I am certifiable hooked on using coal, so here I come back to the well for another batch of your collective knowledge and experience.

lowfog01
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Mark II & Mark I
Coal Size/Type: nut/pea

Post by lowfog01 » Wed. Dec. 29, 2010 1:52 pm

I always have a second pair of hands around when I do this. I don't know the size of the gasket because I do mine in the summer and always take the old one with me. Check the owner's manual. I take the door off and lay it on my table. I remove the old gasket and thoroughly clean out the gasket groove. I use acetone to get it really clean. Then I fit the new gasket into the gasket groove and cut it to size. Be careful not to pull it tight and don't stretch it. Once I have it sized, I remove the new gasket and apply an even amount of "Meeco's Red Devil, Gasketing Cement and Stove Sealer in the gasket groove. Be careful because the cement comes out fast, way fast! Once that's done put the new gasket in place. Take the door and with the help of your second pair of hands rehang it. Hang a piece of newspaper over the door and new gasket and shut the door. The newspaper will stop any oozing cement from getting on your stove front. Close the door and wait 2 hours. You are done. Repeat for the ashpan door. It's actually pretty easy. Good luck, Lisa

CapeCoaler
Stoker Coal Boiler: want AA130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine BS#4, Harman MKII, Hitzer 503,...
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Stove