Am I Not Burning Stove Hot Enough?

cowentz
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Alaska Kast Console II Hearth

Post by cowentz » Tue. Dec. 07, 2010 8:10 am

This is my first year burning coal. I have a Mark II on the fireplace hearth in my living room. It is heating 2,000+ sq ft. My house was built in 1979 and only has electric heat. I have the electric heaters set to 60deg and the ones upstairs kicked on last night. Should I be burning my stove hotter? On average I have the air knob at .75-1.0 turn and stove temp runs around 275 - 300. I see a lot of people here running stove temps of 400 - 500. My only concern with burning hotter is losing the fire. I tend the stove every 12 hours. Yesterday when I got home (stove set at 1 turn all day and room temp was 67) I shook it down and the fire dropped to 2/3 - 3/4 of the fire brick showing. I am afraid if I turn it up it will burn out. My baro is set at .06. Could I be shaking too much ash out causing a faster burn?

Rob R.
Site Moderator
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Chubby Jr

Post by Rob R. » Tue. Dec. 07, 2010 8:13 am

Are you getting every last piece of coal in the stove that you can? Pile it high and deep...and run the stove up to 500 if you need to. You could probably back down the baro a little, 0.04-0.05 worked fine for me.

-Rob

CapeCoaler
Stoker Coal Boiler: want AA130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine BS#4, Harman MKII, Hitzer 503,...
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Stove

Post by CapeCoaler » Tue. Dec. 07, 2010 8:41 am

Just pile the coal higher if you are only flat to the top of the back fire bricks...
The pile is good for another 15-20#...
I used a grain scoop to better place the coal when I had a Mark II...
Went with a bigger stove, DSM Basement #4, because I was adding coal every 8 hours to the Mark II...
I could fit about 80# into the Mark II when I piled the coal...
Now I get 12+ hour burns between tendings...
Just add coal to the hopper...
The DSM holds about 180# of coal...