New to This!!! HELP!

nate

Post by nate » Thu. Oct. 21, 2010 8:56 am

I am from central PA (Williamsport area). I have been burning coal in my previous home for 4 years in a Leisure line HyfireII. We recently moved and our new home has a Harman hand fired stove. The previous owner told me he was running nut coal and could successfully have a fire last up to 8hrs until needing a shakedown/refill.

Well the weather has begun the turn and I decided to try her out. I bought three ton of nut coal, got a raging wood fire started in the stove and dumped some on. Presto! Coal is a go....for about two hours :mad:

As the coal slowly dies out I tried to shakedown and add more coal to keep her alive. I even opened the ash pan door up to increase the draft, but all for not I lost the fire. This has happened to me over and over again and I do not know what to do? Any help? Its getting cold around here!

CapeCoaler
Stoker Coal Boiler: want AA130
Hand Fed Coal Stove: DS Machine BS#4, Harman MKII, Hitzer 503,...
Coal Size/Type: Pea/Nut/Stove

Post by CapeCoaler » Thu. Oct. 21, 2010 9:05 am

Have you checked the pipe and chimney to make sure it is clear and clean...
Sounds like a lack of air flow...
Gaskets good, no leaks above the fire, cleanout on the chimney closed...
Then there is this thread...
How to Light a Hand Fired Coal Stove

SMITTY
Stoker Coal Boiler: EFM 520 Highboy
Coal Size/Type: Rice / Blaschak anthracite
Other Heating: Oil fired Burnham boiler

Post by SMITTY » Thu. Oct. 21, 2010 9:11 am

Yeah more than likely the draft is weak to begin with ... then add temps that aren't quite that cold yet, & you have next to nothing. I haven't pulled more than a .03 on the manometer since I lit up Tuesday afternoon. Temps haven't dropped below 38° during that time. In the dead of winter it usually pulls a .05 or more. I normally burn for 24 hours without shaking or reloading.

Might have to open the air inlet more than normal to compensate for the lack of draft.