Switching From Wood?

SheepDog68
Hand Fed Coal Stove: Alaska Kodiak
Coal Size/Type: Harmony Nut, Lehigh Nut
Other Heating: Happy thoughts, good wool and a little propane.

Post by SheepDog68 » Sat. Jul. 24, 2010 5:16 pm

Having spent some time reading many of the threads here a few years ago and reading quite a bit since I joined the forum, I think I am about ready to make the switch from heating my house with wood to coal.

As a wood burner for the past decade and a half or so I am excited with what I have been learning from the brain trust here at NEPA forum, but have a few questions as of yet.

I have heated at about 90%-100% with wood in my past 3 houses so I have some experience with heating with hand-fired stoves. The house I am in now is an old farm house in the mountains of central WV that we have been remodeling and insulating a bit at a time.

It is somewhere in the 1700-1800 square feet range depending on how much of it we open up to heat. Right now I am heating it with a Jotul Oslo, but have plans to switch to a Hitzer 30-95 unless someone can tell me of a better choice.

The issue at hand is that I have several cords of wood since I like to keep at least a couple of winters ahead. I have read that the 30-95 will burn wood with the hopper removed, but wonder how well this stove would actual burn up my wood pile over the next few years during the mild part of the fall/spring.

I know that the firebox is smaller than what I am use to, but most of my wood is cut short enough to fit into the firebox so that should not be a consideration. Anyone have any advice or comments that I should take into consideration during this switch over? Also any advice on the 30-95 or any other stove that might work out better for me?