Clayton 1600 - New to Coal

ejb (eric)

Post by ejb (eric) » Sun. Jan. 17, 2010 6:12 am

hello coal burners.

I am new to coal. I been a wood burner years grew up on it . I am trying coal I hear once I start coal I will never go back to wood. a friend of mine burns coal but his is a auto feed and I have a hand feed so he cant help me . every thing I read is draft ,shaking (when and when not to) , feeding (when and when not to) .

my claton 1600 has a air induce draft and a spin draft on the ash door and a hand damper and a (barometer) damper . my draft is .02 to .04 . I have been keeping a log on what I do when I do it . so I try not to make the same mess up over. I think I am off to a good start .

I can not keep my frie going over night or when I am at work 9 to 10 houres not sure why . I have a good one going during the day when I am here or after work . I will shak it down about 9:30 pm put a layer of new coal on it let the gases burn off I got a nice fire going ,10:00 pm put all my drafts setting back (to where I logged in the best burn is) set the alarm for 2:00am and stumble down to the bace ment knowing the fire is out becuse it dang cold . my settings are 3 spins out on the bottom , air induce is a 1/4 open when I am here during the day thats is a good setting , check the draft and it .03 .

not sure what I am doing wrong . I am thinking it should go for a 9 to 10 hour run . not a 4 . would love for someone to help me get to where I need to be.

thank you
eric.

WNY
Hot Air Coal Stoker Stove: Keystoker 90K, Leisure Line Hyfire I
Coal Size/Type: Rice

Post by WNY » Sun. Jan. 17, 2010 7:12 am

Do some reading on here, there are many suggestions. Also, what size coal are you using and are you filling it up?

Heres one thread.
Keeping My Stove Going While at Work

ejb (eric)

Post by ejb (eric) » Sun. Jan. 17, 2010 7:27 am