When to Stop Shaking?

caesar10211

Post by caesar10211 » Mon. Dec. 28, 2009 5:35 am

I've been burning coal now for three years, and every day I do is another lesson that I happily welcome. The more I learn here, the better I've been burning. Lately I have been having an issue with removing the ash. I've dialed in on my Russo 2 CW, and have all but eliminated clinkers, and unburned coal. ( Knock on wood) But, when it comes to reloading the stove, I've been spending what I think is an unreasonable amount of time getting it going again, and I think it's because of the amount of ash I'm removing at one time. At first, after a burn (when I would wake in the morning), I would open the ash door and manual damper, let the remaining coals get good and hot, and then shake and add more coal. I was very cautious not to over shake. Seemed to be working, but after about four days of this, there were areas of ash built up in the the corners of the fire box that became a bear to clean out. I was starting to end up with unburned coal in the corners, and fly ash in the centers. :gee: So I wasn't shaking enough. Ok. Start the whole process over, only this time I would shake it more. Only this time, I find myself removing too much ash, which we all know affects the fire, and I would spend a whole bunch of time trying to nurse it back with some kindling, and small scoops of coal. This process wasn't going to work either. Too time consuming, and I haven't heard anybody else have to struggle like this. :( As of late, I just open the ash door, and start sprinkling small amounts of coal onto the red coals. Slowly the firebox is built back up to a good level, and I can shake out the old ash, but this even took me over an hour to complete. :shock: This is where my NEPA friends come in.... what, if anything can I do differently, so I'm not reloading for such a long time? And how much ash should I remove? Any advice will be greatly appreciated.

New Hope Engineer
Coal Size/Type: Nut pea