Gayuta Andes 518 Coal Stove Advice

christoph

Post by christoph » Wed. Nov. 11, 2009 9:36 am

Hey guys I love this site.. I'm new to burning coal this year and I'm looking for advice. I have a Gayuta Andes 518 coal stove that is old. I have burned Nut coal in a few times to test it and it has heated my 2000sft house. It took a little over 40lbs to get the house complete heated but it will save me a ton of money this winter instead of using electric heat. One of my questions is, is there a way of keeping my coals going all night. I do not have a stoker and don't know if I can get one for this stove. If anyone knows of one that may work with my stove please let me know? Also is there a way to determine what kind of coal it is that I am using? I met a guy that has about 12 yards of pea coal for sale. I burned some of it last night and it doesn't match up to nut coal as far as BTU's, but he is offering me a good price. I just don't know if it’s worth it. I'm pretty sure that you can mix pea and nut coal and if this is true I make get both. Lastly if I build a wood box to store the pea coal outside is that ok. I know the nut coal comes bagged and on a pallet so I don’t have to worry about that. If anyone can help me out I would really appreciate it. Thanks in advance. By the way I live in upstate NY (Albany) if anyone knows of a good place/price to get coal please share.

I attached a pic of my stove.

Attachments

GayutaAndes518.JPG
.JPG | 120.5KB | GayutaAndes518.JPG

traderfjp

Post by traderfjp » Wed. Nov. 11, 2009 9:50 am